#1  
Old 9th December 2005, 01:26
dongle dongle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default own web for subdomain

Hello all,

I want to know if I can do own webspace and IP for a subdomain cause I want to setup a groupware in a subdomain.
Is that possible ? How is that managed in ispconfig?

tia

stefan
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th December 2005, 01:51
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Sure, no problem. For example, if you want to have a web site sub.example.com, you create a web site in ISPConfig with the host name sub and the domain example.com.
ISPConfig will automatically create example.com as a Co-Domain so you better remove it from there as example.com is typically assigned to www.example.com.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th December 2005, 18:44
dongle dongle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

okay, thats all clear. But I dont want a mapping from sub.domain.tld to domain.tld.
I want own webspace and own IP for sup.domain.tld.

How can I do this?

tia

stefan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th December 2005, 21:24
IntnsRed IntnsRed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Test it out. Let's say you already have a site, www.example.com.

Just create a new site, only instead of making it "www.example.com" you're going to name it something like "groupware.example.com".

You'll probably want to avoid creating DNS for the new sub-domain, since you've already got one made for www.example.com and can just edit that.

Once you create the new groupware.example.com, click on the Co-Domains tab and delete the entry for "example.com" (because the www.example.com already has one for it).

Once you do those steps you'll have a fully independent sub-domain. It will have its own web space, it's own quotas, etc.

On ones that I create, I usually set up a user for this so that the sub-domain's files are "owned" by another GNU/Linux system user.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th December 2005, 03:27
dongle dongle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

okay, thanks that works!!

stefan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd December 2005, 21:20
newzen newzen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: venezuela
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Sure, no problem. For example, if you want to have a web site sub.example.com, you create a web site in ISPConfig with the host name sub and the domain example.com.
ISPConfig will automatically create example.com as a Co-Domain so you better remove it from there as example.com is typically assigned to www.example.com.
how i can create a sub-domain for a no-ip domain,
ex. sub.dom.no-ip.com, explain with all detail you can.

Thank, im a very newbird in Linux ans in linux fedora core 4
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd December 2005, 22:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

First, you have to register sub.dom.no-ip.com at no-ip.com, and then you simply create a new web site for sub.dom.no-ip.com in ISPConfig, with sub as host and dom.no-ip.com as domain.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23rd December 2005, 00:53
danf.1979 danf.1979 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chile
Posts: 247
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via MSN to danf.1979
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Sure, no problem. For example, if you want to have a web site sub.example.com, you create a web site in ISPConfig with the host name sub and the domain example.com.
ISPConfig will automatically create example.com as a Co-Domain so you better remove it from there as example.com is typically assigned to www.example.com.
Falko, were is the php code that generates the co-domain with host="" as in example.com? I wanto add another automatic co-domain generated (ftp.example.com).
Thanks...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23rd December 2005, 09:23
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,202
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,420 Times in 4,262 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danf.1979
Falko, were is the php code that generates the co-domain with host="" as in example.com? I wanto add another automatic co-domain generated (ftp.example.com).
Thanks...
Dont mix up Co-Domains with DNS records. If you add a co-domain ftp.example.com it means that you create an additional alias for the apache vhost. If you want to get FTP access to ftp.example.com you must add an A or CName record in the DNS manager.

The code for form actions like adding co-domains is in the directory:

/home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/classes/

The is a file named ispconfig_isp_web.inc.php (or similar, dont remember the exact name).
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23rd December 2005, 11:04
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,202
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,420 Times in 4,262 Posts
 
Default

The correct filename is:

ispconfig_isp_web.lib.php
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.