#1  
Old 15th October 2007, 21:07
cic cic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Web-server offline

Some how, I've messed things up and my web-server is not listening on port 80 for my virtual web site. I am able to connect to the GUI via port 81, but port 80 is not accepting connections, even if I just try to telnet to the IP address port 80. Can someone point me in the right direction as to what I may have messed up?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th October 2007, 21:33
chuckl chuckl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Uxbridge, Middlesex, UK
Posts: 166
Thanks: 1
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Default

ISPConfig installs it's own webserver, so ports 80 and 81 are completely unrelated in that port 81 is the ISPConfig server, and port 80 the virtual hosts main web server.

Check the web server logs for errors, and try starting it from a command line/terminal window.

/etc/init.d/apache2 start

or whatever it is on the system you are using
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th October 2007, 21:52
cic cic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I tried that I didn't receive any erros on the screen or in the syslog file. So I then attempted a restart of apache2 and received the follow error:
Forcing reload of web server: Apache2 ... no pidfile found! not running?vweb1:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th October 2007, 22:08
chuckl chuckl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Uxbridge, Middlesex, UK
Posts: 166
Thanks: 1
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Default

That would be because the Apache2 logs are in the /var/log/apache2 folder not the syslog file.(at least they are in debian and ubuntu)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th October 2007, 22:45
cic cic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I was finally able to generate an error but I'm not sure what's is saying. This is from the error.log file within the /var/log/apache2 directory:

[Mon Oct 15 15:01:50 2007] [crit] (28)No space left on device: mod_rewrite: could not create rewrite_log_lock
Configuration Failed

I realize it's saying that "something" is out of space but when I look at the ISP Server Status, here's what I see:

Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted
/dev/sda3 9.2G 754M 8.0G 9% /
tmpfs 126M 0 126M 0% /dev/shm
/dev/sda1 89M 11M 73M 13% /boot
/dev/sda4 68G 891M 64G 2% /var
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th October 2007, 23:24
chuckl chuckl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Uxbridge, Middlesex, UK
Posts: 166
Thanks: 1
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Default

I'd have to say thats a new one on me!

Translation mod_rewrite can't write an entry to it's log file.

Any particular reason you're using logging on mod_rewrite? If not try a RewriteLogLevel 0.

I'd say also do a df from a terminal window/command line just to make sure there isn't a full file system somewhere, or it could be a permissions thing on the log file, or simply that the file doesn't exist, and mod_rewrite thinks it should.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th October 2007, 23:38
cic cic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've found a few articles specifying it may have something to do with ipcs but all the "fixes" are not fixing my issue. I'm at a complete loss...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th October 2007, 12:02
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Please check with the command:

repquat -avug

if you set a quta limit for your apache user and if the quota is full. Another possibility might be that you changed the permissions of the log file directory so that apache is not able to write to the file.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16th October 2007, 17:48
cic cic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'll give that a shot and let you know if it works. In the mean time, I just brought up an identical appliance and moved the web site over (since I only have 1 so far). One evening, I'll shutdown the production appliance and bring up the one giving me issues and attempt this command to see if it works. Now that you mention quota's, I did have an issues a few weeks ago in that even though I gave 250MB to this client and they had only uploaded abuot 200MB, they were unable to upload any additional files. Any ideas? Currently, they only have around 125MB with a 500MB limit.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16th October 2007, 17:57
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
 
Default

You can check the actual quota usage with the command:

repquota -avug
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 06:35
Making my web server secure JimmiJames Server Operation 2 21st June 2006 18:18
Administrator receive empty mail ??? Stanev General 16 7th April 2006 21:56
Email - Ueb-Miau mazhar Installation/Configuration 5 21st December 2005 11:01
Server Not Autorative for Domain Error drbista Installation/Configuration 10 20th December 2005 17:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.