#1  
Old 25th September 2007, 23:57
allawi allawi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Beryl froze all my windows !!

Hi
I am really new here, and new to Ubuntu as well. I installed on a Athlon 3000 XP ( i know its old)
with 512 Memory
It runs fine, then I installed beryl and modified the themes and all and everything seemed to be fine, was very happy with it. later when I restarted and then started beryl as well, all the open windows froze in their place, but working fine as the computer fire fox and all the only thing is that all windows are immovable !!
I dont know how to fix this, should is reinstall beryl. if yes how can i do that.. please show me in detail as i am really really new to this whole system.

Thank you very much for your help

Allawi
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th September 2007, 16:00
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

You mean the title bar of the windows is gone? Was that the case also when you installed Beryl (before you rebooted)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th September 2007, 00:34
allawi allawi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
You mean the title bar of the windows is gone? Was that the case also when you installed Beryl (before you rebooted)?
Yes exactly the title bars disappeared and the windows were immovable, plus beryl manager is completely inactive.

so the systems acts normal only when beryl is disabled. it was functioning normally the night before. ie before i rebooted.
so what your saying is correct.
can you help me please.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th September 2007, 18:36
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Hm... Normally, when this happpens, it happens also the first time, i.e. before you reboot...

Are there any errors in your log files?

What's the output of
Code:
lspci
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th September 2007, 00:24
allawi allawi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just typed the code and this is the output.
sorry I don't understand it much..:

0:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce2 AGP (different version?) (rev c1)
00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 1 (rev c1)
00:00.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 4 (rev c1)
00:00.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 3 (rev c1)
00:00.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 2 (rev c1)
00:00.5 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 5 (rev c1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP2A ISA bridge (rev a3)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP2A SMBus (rev a1)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP2A USB Controller (rev a1)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP2A USB Controller (rev a1)
00:02.2 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP2A USB Controller (rev a2)
00:08.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP2A PCI Bridge (rev a3)
00:09.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP2A IDE (rev a3)
00:0b.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Serial ATA Controller (rev a3)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce2 AGP (rev c1)
01:07.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy (rev 04)
01:07.1 Input device controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy Game Port (rev 04)
01:07.2 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Creative Labs SB Audigy FireWire Port (rev 04)
01:09.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
01:0b.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV350 AP [Radeon 9600]
02:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV350 AP [Radeon 9600] (Secondary)


Is there anything i can do to get it working again..?

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th September 2007, 18:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by allawi
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV350 AP [Radeon 9600]
02:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV350 AP [Radeon 9600] (Secondary)
An ATI Radeon 9600 should work. I have an ATI Mobility Radeon 9200 that works without problems: http://www.howtoforge.com/ubuntu_fei...ryl_ati_radeon
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30th September 2007, 07:13
allawi allawi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes these are the instructions i followed to install beryl.

is there anyway to repair it ?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st October 2007, 16:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Are there any errors in your log files?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd October 2007, 06:12
allawi allawi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how can i check that? what is the code ?

thanx
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 3rd October 2007, 18:33
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
 
Default

The log files are located in the /var/log directory.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting e-mail working hansoffate Installation/Configuration 29 13th August 2008 16:33
Not working: Installing Beryl on Feisty Fawn w/ATI Radeon Card thepossiblehuman HOWTO-Related Questions 18 1st October 2007 16:37
Yod'm 3D (Windows beryl cloan) edge Smalltalk 2 10th April 2007 22:44
apache2 problem laser144 Server Operation 8 15th March 2007 17:32
How to save on windows cals sithi Suggest HOWTO 0 29th January 2006 17:18


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.