#1  
Old 24th September 2007, 18:39
erebus erebus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 63
Thanks: 10
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default First impression...

Hello all,

I am new to ISPConfig and I haven't used it (yet) on a production server. I spend these days playing around with it so as to understand its logic better. Here are my questions:

- If you create a new reseller, you cannot edit its data by pressing on the green pencil button. You can only go to its group and click on its title in order to edit its options. Is this a bug?

- I have found a double quote ("") in the greek translation, which make the "Tools" page to crash. I don't remember the exact location now, because I've fixed it -- however its a serious bug as the clients may crash their interface easily. By the way, where can we submit bug reports?

- Under Management/System Config/Settings/ISP Manager, there are options for Client/Reseller and Invoice numbering. I have changed these values accordingly to 3000/2000/1000 -- although I did not understand very well their purpose. Assuming that I have 1000 resellers (in theory), what will happen with the 1001st when created?

- Also, I have created some new demo resellers which I deleted afterwards. However I noticed that when I create a new reseller (even when I have deleted all of them), the Reseller Number, starts _after_ the last deleted reseller entry (instead of being 2001 for example, it is 2008). Is this normal? Can I reset this number somehow, so as to have enough space for more records? I assume that in this way (by adding/deleting all the time) you have reach the limit very quickly...

- I have a box with 2 IPs (1 standard, 1 extra). Is it possible, to force only one of the two to a specific reseller, so as not to be able to use the other for his sites?

I can't remember anything else for the moment. Best regards and congratulations to all for such an excellent project!

So far,
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th September 2007, 22:33
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,263
Thanks: 216
Thanked 649 Times in 295 Posts
Default

Yes, it was a typo within the gr.lng file for the tools page.
The double "" was within the line starting with: $wb["zugangsdaten_kunde_einleitung"] = "" ....".
I have reported this and i hope it will be fixed with the next stable release, which is 2.2.17.

With ISPConfig you can not point your extra IP-address to a reseller or client, but you can point it to one or more websites, which belongs to that reseller/client.
__________________
Hans

MrHostman | Managed Hosting

Last edited by Hans; 25th September 2007 at 00:09.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hans For This Useful Post:
erebus (25th September 2007)
  #3  
Old 25th September 2007, 02:41
erebus erebus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 63
Thanks: 10
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Hello Hans, thank you for the quick response.

So if I want to assign a specific IP to any reseller customer, this is not possible? Extra IPs has to be always global? This isn't very practical...

If anybody else can answer to my other questions I would be very pleased.

Thank you,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th September 2007, 10:03
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,001
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,650 Times in 4,460 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
- Under Management/System Config/Settings/ISP Manager, there are options for Client/Reseller and Invoice numbering. I have changed these values accordingly to 3000/2000/1000 -- although I did not understand very well their purpose. Assuming that I have 1000 resellers (in theory), what will happen with the 1001st when created?
Thats the starting number for the reseller numbers used in the invoices.

Quote:
- Also, I have created some new demo resellers which I deleted afterwards. However I noticed that when I create a new reseller (even when I have deleted all of them), the Reseller Number, starts _after_ the last deleted reseller entry (instead of being 2001 for example, it is 2008). Is this normal? Can I reset this number somehow, so as to have enough space for more records? I assume that in this way (by adding/deleting all the time) you have reach the limit very quickly...
Currently you can create at least 2 million resellers per control panel and if you change the field in the datbase to bigint, you can have a few billions. Reseller numbers can not be reused as MySQL did not assign auto increment numbers again.

Quote:
- I have a box with 2 IPs (1 standard, 1 extra). Is it possible, to force only one of the two to a specific reseller, so as not to be able to use the other for his sites?
No. But Clients can not change the IP that you assigned to their websites, only resellers can.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
erebus (25th September 2007)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.