Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th May 2007, 17:14
samuch samuch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Can't Login After Update

Just ran the update and it appeared to install fine. However when I go to https://www.sitename.com:81 and attempt to use my admin login it fails.

I noticed I'm now getting this when I start the server:

Ok: Pass Phrase Dialog successful.
/root/ispconfig/httpd/bin/apachectl startssl: httpd started
shell-init: error retrieving current directory: getcwd: cannot access parent directories: No such file or directory

Warning: mysql_fetch_array(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /root/ispconfig/scripts/lib/config.inc.php on line 47
No results found!ISPConfig system is now up and running!


I'm guessing this is the root of the problem. Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th May 2007, 16:18
samuch samuch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Does anyone have any thoughts or has anyone else experienced this? I'm quite stuck if I can't add or maintain any of my sites. Any thoughts are appreciated.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th May 2007, 17:30
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Did you get any errors during the update?
Can you check if the ISPConfig database exists?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th May 2007, 17:44
samuch samuch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There were no errors during the update until the very end when it started the services and gave the error I listed.

Do you know the link to phpmyadmin for the default install? I can't remember it as I usually logged in as admin and then clicked the link.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th May 2007, 04:29
samuch samuch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Anyone have any thoughts? Would it hurt if I ran the setup again just in case something didn't go through? I surely don't want to do any damage but it's important that I get back in.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th May 2007, 10:34
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,788
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

Do you have the backups in /tmp that were created automatically during the update? It must be 2 tar.gz files and 1 .sql file.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th May 2007, 14:31
samuch samuch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Do you have the backups in /tmp that were created automatically during the update? It must be 2 tar.gz files and 1 .sql file.
I see home_admispconfig_05_26_2007__09_05_45.tar.gz and root_ispconfig_05_26_2007__09_05_45.tar.gz and existing_db_05_26_2007__09_05_45.sql.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30th May 2007, 05:10
samuch samuch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I figured out the phpmyadmin address and logged in to look for the database. All my databases are there EXCEPT "ispconfig". I checked the config.inc.php to make sure it was looking for this database and it is.

I ran a mysqlcheck on the database and it says "Unknown database".

Why would this database have disappeared? Also, how could the sites be running if the database is gone? How do I restore the database from the backup made when I upgraded?

Last edited by samuch; 30th May 2007 at 05:13.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30th May 2007, 17:15
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samuch
I see home_admispconfig_05_26_2007__09_05_45.tar.gz and root_ispconfig_05_26_2007__09_05_45.tar.gz and existing_db_05_26_2007__09_05_45.sql.
You can restore /home/admispconfig/ from home_admispconfig_05_26_2007__09_05_45.tar.gz and /root/ispconfig/ from root_ispconfig_05_26_2007__09_05_45.tar.gz.
The ISPConfig db can be restored from existing_db_05_26_2007__09_05_45.sql like this: http://www.howtoforge.com/faq/6_4_en.html

Quote:
Also, how could the sites be running if the database is gone?
The web sites have nothing to do with the database. The datbase is used by ISPConfig to write the configuration files; once that's done the web sites works regardless if there's an ISPConfig database or not.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 31st May 2007, 04:42
samuch samuch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

New problem. I went to import the last database backup and noticed nothing was imported. I looked in the backup file and this is all that was there:

Code:
-- MySQL dump 10.10
--
-- Host: localhost    Database: ispconfig
-- ------------------------------------------------------
-- Server version       5.0.26

/*!40101 SET @OLD_CHARACTER_SET_CLIENT=@@CHARACTER_SET_CLIENT */;
/*!40101 SET @OLD_CHARACTER_SET_RESULTS=@@CHARACTER_SET_RESULTS */;
/*!40101 SET @OLD_COLLATION_CONNECTION=@@COLLATION_CONNECTION */;
/*!40101 SET NAMES utf8 */;
/*!40103 SET @OLD_TIME_ZONE=@@TIME_ZONE */;
/*!40103 SET TIME_ZONE='+00:00' */;
/*!40014 SET @OLD_UNIQUE_CHECKS=@@UNIQUE_CHECKS, UNIQUE_CHECKS=0 */;
/*!40014 SET @OLD_FOREIGN_KEY_CHECKS=@@FOREIGN_KEY_CHECKS, FOREIGN_KEY_CHECKS=0 */;
/*!40101 SET @OLD_SQL_MODE=@@SQL_MODE, SQL_MODE='NO_AUTO_VALUE_ON_ZERO' */;
/*!40111 SET @OLD_SQL_NOTES=@@SQL_NOTES, SQL_NOTES=0 */;
Any thoughts on why this would have been emptied? Am I pretty much screwed? Is there anyway to save this? I appreciate all the help so far. I'm getting pretty nervous.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Availability Samba cluster - DRBD + Heartbeat djalex Server Operation 58 25th May 2007 20:38
Unable to authenticate to SMTP server ashkev Installation/Configuration 15 6th February 2007 18:46
HotSaNIC domino Tips/Tricks/Mods 23 6th November 2006 06:19
kann keine mails empfangen odin1 Installation/Configuration 5 6th July 2006 13:13
Total Frustration-HELP palkat Installation/Configuration 17 3rd September 2005 18:28


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.