Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd September 2007, 18:16
mopsos mopsos is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default [XEN , etch] prob with creation of my domU

Hi,
I want install xen on my system debian etch.
I install a basic etch system.
Then I install
Code:
aptitude update;aptitute install xen-linux-system-2.6.18-5-xen-686 libc6-xen
update-grub
Then I reboot my system.
All is ok I boot on the new kernel.
I have a partition for install my "dom1" : /dev/sda8 /xen2
For test :
I do this :
Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/xen2/image1.img bs=1M count=3500
mke2fs -j /xen2/image1.img
mount -o loop /xen2/image1.img /xen2
debootstrap etch /xen2 ftp://ftp.fr.debian.org/debian
chroot /xen2 /bin/bash
I configure my file system fstab
Code:
/dev/hda1 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
and my file interfaces :
Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
I quit my chroot
I lauch the script of network brige of xen with
sh /etc/xen/scripts/network-bridge start

then I create a file for xen
vi /etc/xen/xen1.xsp
Code:
kernel = "/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.18-5-xen-686"
memory = 1024
name = "xen2"
root = "/dev/hda1 ro"
ramdisk = '/boot/initrd.img-2.6.18-5-xen-686'
disk = [ 'file:/xen2/image1.img,hda1,w' ]
vif = [ '' ]
dhcp="dhcp"
extra="3"
But when i lauch my xen1 I have a few error :
Code:
FATAL: Error inserting fan (/lib/modules/2.6.18-5-xen-686/kernel/drivers/acpi/fan.ko): No such device
FATAL: Error inserting thermal (/lib/modules/2.6.18-5-xen-686/kernel/drivers/acpi/thermal.ko): No such device
Loading kernel modules...FATAL: Could not load /lib/modules/2.6.18-5-xen-686/modules.dep: No such file or directory
/etc/init.d/bootclean: line 24: /var/lock/.clean: Read-only file system
/etc/init.d/bootclean: line 24: /tmp/.clean: Read-only file system
* bootclean: Failure creating '/tmp/.clean'.
rm: cannot remove `./motd': Read-only file system
* bootclean: Failure cleaning /var/run.
rm: cannot remove `./aptitude': Read-only file system
* bootclean: Failure cleaning /var/lock.
/etc/rcS.d/S55bootmisc.sh: line 28: /var/run/utmp: Read-only file system
At the end I have a lot of line like this :
Code:
4gb seg fixup, process logsave (pid 872), cs:ip 73:b7f39cd8
printk: 9 messages suppressed.
4gb seg fixup, process logsave (pid 872), cs:ip 73:b7f39cd8
printk: 9 messages suppressed.
4gb seg fixup, process logsave (pid 872), cs:ip 73:b7f39cd8
printk: 9 messages suppressed.
4gb seg fixup, process logsave (pid 872), cs:ip 73:b7f39cd8
printk: 9 messages suppressed.
I can log me, but it's very long to start him.
It stay a long time on
Starting system log daemon: syslogd
And I can't install system,
it says me :
Code:
W: Could not lock the cache file.  Opening in read-only mode; any changes you make to the states of packages will NOT be preserved!
W: Not using locking for read only lock file /var/lib/apt/lists/lock
E: Unable to open /var/log/aptitude to log actions - do_log (30 Read-only file system)
W: Not using locking for read only lock file /var/lib/dpkg/lock
Can you say me If I do a mistake?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th September 2007, 15:06
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Perhaps it is easier to use the Xen tools for creating your virtual machines: http://www.howtoforge.com/debian_etch_xen_3.1_p3
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th September 2007, 00:15
the_spy the_spy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 91
Thanks: 20
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
 
Default

"Read-only file system"

you are in read only mode for this partition

I see in one file: root = "/dev/hda1 ro" , you may try with rw instead of ro may be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.