Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17th September 2007, 17:56
Lord Wodan Lord Wodan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Making 1 server from 2. Samba/ISPconfig

Hi,

I think this will be a whole lot of text and I hope one of you will help me or advise me:

Basicinfo

Gateway: 192.168.1.1
Workgroup: MSHOME
Primary domain to serve: www.sanders-pit.nl

The situation:

I now have 2 servers. One powerfull one as fileserver and 1 weak one for ISPConfig (made for testing). I want to merge these so that the powerfull one will handle all.

Server 1: (PIV 2.2 1GbRam, 500GB disc Gigabit lan)
OS: Debian 4.0r1 Etch
IP: 192.168.1.110
Name: Butler, netbios SMBserver
Functions:
Samba Fileserver version 3.0.24-6etch4
Fetchmail (mailslurper) version 6.3.6-1
IMAPserver Dovecot version 1.0RC15-2etch1
Mysqlserver version 5.0.32-7etch1 (for Amarok running on other pc)

All this is working OK.

Server 2: (PIIIslow, harddisk slow bah )
OS Debian 4.0r Etch
IP: 192.168.1.201
Name: Test
Function: Running ISPConfig with main domain: www.sanders-pit.nl

I installed this pc with the tuto made by falko, running like a dream but as slow as hell.

The question:

Server 1 is powerfull enough to do all. So, I want to get ISPConfig running on that machine. I rather not make a clean install but I can make the Server equal to the tuto of Falko. BUT, what issues may occur?

First, I understood that i have to remove EXIM. No problem.

Second, Mysql will have 2 tasks, wont it? Should be no problem also?

Third: ISPConfig is also a mailserver, will this affect my Fetchmail/Dovecot config or will it exist together? This config is only for internal use. To fetch my email en distribute it to my other pc's

Fourth: Will ISPConfig affect my Sambasetup?

Last en I think most difficult:

I have a second Gigabit NIC. Is it possible to bind ISPConfig to that card, let's say 192.168.2.100? In other words, OUTSIDE my internal network, for safety.

I see 3 problems with that:

Mysql wil not be available for my mediapc (in the 192.168.1.x range)
The DNS server wil also not be available?
Will ISPconfig will be accessable by my gateway?

Is somebody available to think with me? I hope you understand what I want.

Last edited by Lord Wodan; 17th September 2007 at 17:59.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 18th September 2007, 08:42
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,340
Thanks: 810
Thanked 5,170 Times in 4,054 Posts
Default

I recommend to not mix up both setups. If you have the ISPConfig server mainly for testing, install the free vmware server software on server 1 and then make a vmware virtual machine with ISPConfig inside.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th September 2007, 14:30
Lord Wodan Lord Wodan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The old system was for testing. So now I know how it works I would have on a reliable computer.

Why is it that you do not recommend it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th September 2007, 21:42
Lord Wodan Lord Wodan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ehmm? Till? Falko? anyone?

I would really like to have 1 pc online all the time not 2. It should be possible.. no?

And why not?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st September 2007, 08:25
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,340
Thanks: 810
Thanked 5,170 Times in 4,054 Posts
Default

You can install ISPConfig with samba on the same server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st September 2007, 08:41
Lord Wodan Lord Wodan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, that part I knew but what about my other questions? Fetchmail/dovecot? will it can co-work?

The Idea of the second NIC is off, i dont see the advantage.

But than again, you said that i better not do that, why was that?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd September 2007, 11:58
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,714 Times in 2,556 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Wodan
Third: ISPConfig is also a mailserver, will this affect my Fetchmail/Dovecot config or will it exist together? This config is only for internal use. To fetch my email en distribute it to my other pc's
That *should* be no problem, although I'm not 100% sure...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 05:35
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
subdomain and mail relay configuration aranthorn Installation/Configuration 24 3rd September 2007 22:53
Problems with Postfix Mysql Courier PatrickAdrichem Installation/Configuration 3 13th April 2007 15:44
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.