Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th September 2007, 17:09
chancer chancer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 88
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Install with one domain configured?

Hi, Folks,

If there's anyone out there, I wonder if you could answer this?

I've subscribed for a LVM server with the supplier's reference as the domain name (their main domain is appended). I want to set up so that everything looks to an outsider as though it is part of my business.

So, what I have is a server at me.hisdomain.com and I want my subscribers to see only mydomain.com

Will ISPConfig install OK if I put mydomain.com into apache prior to installing ISPConfig?

Last edited by chancer; 16th September 2007 at 17:11.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 16th September 2007, 19:53
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,388 Times in 4,233 Posts
Default

You can do this, but you will not be able to use this domain in ISPConfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
chancer (18th September 2007)
  #3  
Old 16th September 2007, 20:23
chancer chancer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 88
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Hi, till, thanks for taking the trouble reply on a Sunday evening. I appreciate that.

It turns out there's no need to do it that way. If you go into Management -> Server/Settings, on the first screen, you can change the server name to what you want it to be from Server1 and you can change to any domain you have configured in Domain:

This allows you to go to https://mydomain.com:81 and your ISPConfig login will show. This is the address you can give to your resellers and users. The other one still works, but the chances of anyone else stumbling across it without knowing your account details as given by the server's or VS's host are remote.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pop3 service alone is failed in "The Perfect Setup - Debian Sarge (3.1)" nandhu HOWTO-Related Questions 60 5th August 2008 15:15
install Net::DNS chrno Installation/Configuration 4 5th September 2006 17:01
Install ISPConfig on an already configured server? freedog96150 Installation/Configuration 2 7th July 2006 11:09
IP address / domain name settings during install SurfingAlien Installation/Configuration 5 1st February 2006 13:29
Mandriva 10.2 Perfect Setup Install Problems... ctroyp Installation/Configuration 12 30th December 2005 16:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.