Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th September 2007, 23:42
MikeM MikeM is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Autoresponder installation problem cgi script won't run

I am trying to install the parabots autoresponder on my site. I uploaded the file autoinstall.cgi in ascii mode into cgi-bin/ar/ and set the permissions to 755 as per their instructions. When I run the file, nothing happens, just a blank page. I don't think it is running at all. I even tried their manual install, but it also wants to run autoinstall.cgi and can't do it. I see the folders are automatically set to 775. I tried setting it to 755, same result.

I am using debian 4 and have cgi setup for the web site. I have run other cgi scripts before.

Any ideas on why this file won't run?

Thanks.

Mike Murphy
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th September 2007, 17:53
catdude catdude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 178
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Default What does it do from the command line?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeM
I am trying to install the parabots autoresponder on my site. I uploaded the file autoinstall.cgi in ascii mode into cgi-bin/ar/ and set the permissions to 755 as per their instructions. When I run the file, nothing happens, just a blank page. I don't think it is running at all. I even tried their manual install, but it also wants to run autoinstall.cgi and can't do it. I see the folders are automatically set to 775. I tried setting it to 755, same result.

I am using debian 4 and have cgi setup for the web site. I have run other cgi scripts before.

Any ideas on why this file won't run?

Thanks.

Mike Murphy

I don't know anything about patabots stuff (I try not to run code I have to pay for )

When you say you run the code, do you mean from the command line or through your web browser? If you make an ssh connection and run the code from the command line, what does it display?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th September 2007, 18:02
MikeM MikeM is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Run from web.

The script says to run the autoinstall.cgi from the web site. So I enter:
http://www.mysite.com/cgi-bin/ar/autoinstall.cgi and a blank page comes up, but the script does not activate or do anything.

Don't know how to run it from the command line

I'm pretty new at Linux stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th September 2007, 18:13
catdude catdude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 178
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Default Command line

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeM
The script says to run the autoinstall.cgi from the web site. So I enter:
http://www.mysite.com/cgi-bin/ar/autoinstall.cgi and a blank page comes up, but the script does not activate or do anything.

Don't know how to run it from the command line

I'm pretty new at Linux stuff.
Ok, here's how.

If ISPConfig is running on a machine that you have physical access to, just log in from the keyboard as root. If you don't have physical access, make an ssh connection to your ISPConfig machine fromwhatever machine you usually work from.

Go to the directory where the cgi files are written. In my case, that's /var/www/<the domain name>/cgi-bin. I think you indicated that you installed if in cgi-bin/ar; so if you also used /var/www as the insatll base, you would do:
cd /var/www/<your domain name>/cgi-bin/ar

Verify that you're in the right place by doing:
ls

If you see the files you installed, then you're where you want to be.

To execute the autoinstall.cgi file, do:
./autoinstall.cgi

This will not perform the installation for you, but if there is a problem like Perl installed in the wrong place, etc. this ought to display an error message that might help to point out what the problem is.

One word of warning, though - logging in as root is dangerous! Think twice before executing any commands. Especially don't do any deletes ([b][i]rm[i][b] commands without checking carefully that you're entering the command you want.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th September 2007, 18:25
MikeM MikeM is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default OK, did that

OK, I did that. I had to use web1 instead of my domain name, but same thing. I ran ./autoinstall.cgi and the only thing that happened was the command prompt came back right away. No errors or waiting.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th September 2007, 18:31
catdude catdude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 178
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Default Hmmm...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeM
OK, I did that. I had to use web1 instead of my domain name, but same thing. I ran ./autoinstall.cgi and the only thing that happened was the command prompt came back right away. No errors or waiting.

Mike
Oh. Well. That's - unexpected.

If you do ls -Al in that directory, what does it show for file size on the autoinstall.cgi file?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th September 2007, 18:37
MikeM MikeM is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Here it is

It shows:

total 136
-rwxrwxrwx 1 web1_admin web1 131515 2007-09-13 14:44 autoinstall.cgi
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th September 2007, 18:45
catdude catdude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 178
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeM
It shows:

total 136
-rwxrwxrwx 1 web1_admin web1 131515 2007-09-13 14:44 autoinstall.cgi
Unless someone else can come up with any additional suggestions, I think it might be time to give parabots a call.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14th September 2007, 18:52
MikeM MikeM is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default OK, thanks for the help

Yes, I think I'll do that. Thanks for the help and education


Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig installation problem. Cannot make OpenSSL BlueStream Installation/Configuration 13 18th October 2005 11:01
Uninstalld Now Cant run older php script abselect Installation/Configuration 1 18th October 2005 10:23
Installation problem xma Installation/Configuration 15 26th September 2005 14:22
Installation problem: PHP problem? hgoor Installation/Configuration 7 21st August 2005 23:15
Installation Problem _InFeCtOr Installation/Configuration 5 8th August 2005 16:34


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.