Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 5th December 2005, 13:48
rosa hsiao rosa hsiao is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default testing web site by its external ip address

1) I can visit user's web site by typing

"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/users/web07_user01"
or
"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/~web07_user01"

But, why can't I visit its virtual web site by typing

"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/web/web07/web"
or
"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/web/www.virtualdomain07.com"?


2) In DNS Manager of ISPConfig, the hostname is www and SOA is example.com, IP Address is pointed to external IP at 203.79.xxx.xxx.

If www.example.com is acting as DNS server for virtual web site www.example2.com,do I need to put example.com as SOA instead of example2.com?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 5th December 2005, 14:02
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,170
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,412 Times in 4,255 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rosa hsiao
But, why can't I visit its virtual web site by typing

"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/web/web07/web"
or
"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/web/www.virtualdomain07.com"?
Because ISPConfig has no rules for mod_rewrite for these access scenarios. You can add custom rewrite rules in the apache directives field.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th December 2005, 02:37
rosa hsiao rosa hsiao is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Because ISPConfig has no rules for mod_rewrite for these access scenarios. You can add custom rewrite rules in the apache directives field.
I am not quite familiar with Apache directives. Can you tell me how to rewrite the rules to achieve the above goal by typing:

"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/web/web07/web"
or
"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/web/www.virtualdomain07.com"?


I just want to test that the newly created virtual web site and its users' webmails at www.virtualdomain07.com are ok before I move the virtualdomain07 from another external IP to 203.79.xxx.xxx.

"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/web/web07/web"
or
"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/web/www.virtualdomain07.com"?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th December 2005, 10:16
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

http://httpd.apache.org/docs/1.3/misc/rewriteguide.html

But I don't understand why you want to do this...

Let's says the document root is /var/www/web7/web. So normally, when you type www.example.com, you're in the web directory. What want to do is: you want to type www.example.com/web7/web to be in the web directory... Doesn't make any sense to me...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th December 2005, 10:44
rosa hsiao rosa hsiao is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/1.3/misc/rewriteguide.html

But I don't understand why you want to do this...

Let's says the document root is /var/www/web7/web. So normally, when you type www.example.com, you're in the web directory. What want to do is: you want to type www.example.com/web7/web to be in the web directory... Doesn't make any sense to me...
Because www.example.com is an active web site now and assigned to another IP address at 203.79.xxx.101. I am planing to move all virtual web sites from 203.79.xxx.101 to 203.79.xxx.102 which can be fully controled by ISPConfig. Now I have setup ISPConfig successfully and created DNS records for www.example.com at 203.79.xxx.102. Everything seems to be OK in INTRANET.

I just want to test from remote computer via INTERNET to see if the site www.example.com at 203.79.xxx.102 will be running OK before I change its DNS Server to 203.79.xxx.102.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th January 2006, 03:10
gmg gmg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I really would like an answer to this question myself.
Is there anyway to preview a website before the dns propagates.

I'm in the middle of a server move and there are a few of the sites with scripts that I would like to make sure are working before I point the domains to the new server.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th January 2006, 18:57
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

You can edit the hosts file on your Windows workstation, as described here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...24&postcount=3
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th January 2006, 19:37
disasm disasm is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

not sure if this is the recommended way to do it, but I edit my resolv.conf (or if on windows change domain server) to be my server, rather than my isp's servers. This forces it to ask my ispconfig server what domains map to what ip addresses.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th January 2006, 20:33
heftigrat heftigrat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 62
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
You can edit the hosts file on your Windows workstation, as described here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...24&postcount=3
I'm not sure this really answers the original question.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th January 2006, 21:32
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by disasm
not sure if this is the recommended way to do it, but I edit my resolv.conf (or if on windows change domain server) to be my server, rather than my isp's servers. This forces it to ask my ispconfig server what domains map to what ip addresses.
This doesn't help you if you're on a client machine and want to access the server. You have to do the changes on the client, not the server.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duplicate virtual hosts bosei General 13 22nd December 2005 17:48
How to shorten the web site address? rosa hsiao General 5 5th December 2005 13:29
Can't get MX for external mail server to work semmelbroesel Installation/Configuration 4 25th November 2005 17:48
postfix config jmroth Installation/Configuration 6 18th September 2005 15:58
can't delete a site KenMcGinnis Installation/Configuration 2 14th August 2005 15:02


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.