#1  
Old 4th September 2007, 00:18
Felipe Felipe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPConfig + Drupal Multisite

Hello.

I'd like to know if somebody has a guide on how to install a Drupal Multisite under a running ISPConfig. I've found one link [1] for Drupal multisite installation on howtoforge but it is not using ISPConfig, i tried to adapt the paths but something is going wrong.

Any information is welcomed.

[1] http://www.howtoforge.com/multisite_...llation_ubuntu

Thanks,
__________
__________________
Felipe Rocha
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th September 2007, 14:09
BioALIEN BioALIEN is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm also after this. I managed to get Drupal working with one installation having followed all the tutorials but it would be great to find out how to organise a multisite setup using ispConfig.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th September 2007, 20:47
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

What exactly isn't working? Do you have any error messages?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th September 2007, 21:13
Felipe Felipe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi falko

Once it is a published web site, I had to come back all the confs, tonight I'll try again and I'll post the error message here.

Until where I remember, when accessing the page to configure drupal, it was showing an error related with permission. This access is to configure the #1 drupal website.

thanks for your time.
__________________
Felipe Rocha
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th September 2007, 00:41
Felipe Felipe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello, I'm back...

I'll post the step-by-step of what I did, I've used the following link as a reference:

http://www.howtoforge.com/multisite_...llation_ubuntu

Starting...

-> Configure DNS - not needed.

-> Install Packages - they are there.

-> Test Apache2/PHP Installation
On ISPConfig I've selected the websites I'm working on and have selected the option 'PHP Scripts' but not 'PHP Safe Mode' under 'Basic' tab. After this, my websites were able to run PHP scripts.

-> Test MySQL Installation - ok

-> Install Drupal Using CVS - ok

-> CVS Updates - ok

-> Create Additional Directories - ok

-> Create the Drupal Sites - now start the problem. I'm in doubt about this step because I really don't know if this step is needed, if is needed to do it to enable the websites to be reached. I'm using ISPConfig and on my point of view, it is an unnecessary step, off course, with the exception for the mysql stuff, anyway, I made it :-)
cd /var/www/drupal/sites
cp -a default www.example-a.com
cp -a default www.example-b.com
To create mysql user and dbs I've used ISPConfig. To run the 'grant' command I've used phpmyadmin.
At this instructions: "We now need to configure Apache to serve up the two websites. The first step is to allow multiple websites on the same server (virtual websites):" I made like showed.
I've edited the file /etc/apache2/sites-available/default like showed and then, using this template I've issued the following commands:
cd /etc/apache2/sites-available
cp default www.example-a.com
cp default www.example-b.com
cd ../sites-enabled
rm 000-default
ln -s ../sites-available/www.example-a.com 001-www.example-a.com
ln -s ../sites-available/www.example-b.com 002-www.example-b.com

The difference here is the sites names, at the link, the names are only 'www' and 'www2' in my situation I informed the full website URL and when I've restart apache it is happening an error like this:

server:/etc/apache2/sites-enabled# /etc/init.d/apache2 restart
Forcing reload of web server (apache2)... waiting Syntax error on line 6 of /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/001-www.example-a.com:
AllowOverride not allowed here
failed!

-> Configuring Drupal - first, I need to correct the error and then I'll be able to walk here...

falko or *, this message helps you on helping me or you need more information? if 'yes', please let me know.

thanks,
__________________
Felipe Rocha
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th September 2007, 21:12
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Felipe
At this instructions: "We now need to configure Apache to serve up the two websites. The first step is to allow multiple websites on the same server (virtual websites):" I made like showed.
I've edited the file /etc/apache2/sites-available/default like showed and then, using this template I've issued the following commands:
cd /etc/apache2/sites-available
cp default www.example-a.com
cp default www.example-b.com
cd ../sites-enabled
rm 000-default
ln -s ../sites-available/www.example-a.com 001-www.example-a.com
ln -s ../sites-available/www.example-b.com 002-www.example-b.com
You don't have to do this because you have ISPConfig to create web sites...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th September 2007, 22:22
Felipe Felipe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok falko, I will skip this step, now, what is the best way to point the ISPConfig website to access the Drupal website.

Should I edit the file /etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf and set the 'DocumentRoot' pointing to '/var/www/drupal/www.example-a.com' or should I add the following <Directory> tag in the Apache Directives field on the 'Basis' tab.

<Directory /var/www/drupal/www.example-a.com/>
Options +Includes +FollowSymlinks -Indexes
AllowOverride All
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
<Files ~ "^\.ht">
Deny from all
</Files>
</Directory>

I've got this <Directory> tag from this link http://www.howtoforge.com/drupal_ispconfig

Other question is should I create the '.htaccess' file inside the Drupal website? if yes, what should be in this file?
__________________
Felipe Rocha
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10th September 2007, 18:50
Felipe Felipe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Some Help with '500 error - Internal Server Error!'

This error is happening when I'm trying to access the url 'www.example-a.com'

At this file '/var/www/web2/log/error.log' we have a lot of this message:

[Mon Sep 10 11:56:01 2007] [alert] [client 192.168.1.6] /var/www/drupal/.htaccess: Option Indexes not allowed here

Now, what I've made to try to solve this issue.

Changed the tag for 'mod_rewrite.c' on '/var/www/drupal/.htaccess' to:

<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ /index.php?q=$1 [L,QSA] ### -> added the '/' before 'index.php'
</IfModule>

Modified the 'AllowOverride' and commented the <Files> tag at the /etc/apache2/apache2.conf, it now look like this:

<Directory /var/www/*/web>
Options +Includes +FollowSymlinks -Indexes
#AllowOverride None
AllowOverride All
#AllowOverride Indexes AuthConfig Limit FileInfo
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
#<Files ~ "^\.ht">
#Deny from all
#</Files>
</Directory>

On '/etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf' file, the 'DocumentRoot' is pointing to '/var/www/drupal/www.example-a.com'.
Changed the group and owner of the directory '/var/www/drupal/sites/www.example-a.com' to 'www-data' and 'web2'

For this Vhost at the file '/etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf' the configuration look like this:

######################################
# Vhost: www.example-a.com:80
######################################
#
#
<VirtualHost 111.111.111.111:80>
ServerName www.example-a.com:80
ServerAdmin webmaster@www.example-a.com
#DocumentRoot /var/www/web2/web
DocumentRoot /var/www/drupal/sites/www.example-a.com
ServerAlias www.example-a.com
DirectoryIndex index.html index.htm index.php index.php5 index.php4 index.php3 index.shtml index.cgi index
.pl index.jsp Default.htm default.htm
ErrorLog /var/www/web2/log/error.log
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .php4 .php5
<Files *.php>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php3>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php4>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php5>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
php_admin_flag safe_mode Off
Alias /error/ "/var/www/web2/web/error/"
ErrorDocument 400 /error/invalidSyntax.html
ErrorDocument 401 /error/authorizationRequired.html
ErrorDocument 403 /error/forbidden.html
ErrorDocument 404 /error/fileNotFound.html
ErrorDocument 405 /error/methodNotAllowed.html
ErrorDocument 500 /error/internalServerError.html
ErrorDocument 503 /error/overloaded.html
AliasMatch ^/~([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web2/user/$1/web/$3
AliasMatch ^/users/([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web2/user/$1/web/$3
</VirtualHost>

Well, I'm really needing your help to solve this issue because I don't know what could be the next step to put ISPConfig + Drupal Multisite running together here on my server.

Thanks in advance,
__________________
Felipe Rocha
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27th October 2008, 23:31
ashishpadave ashishpadave is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 13
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Any solution here?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig, Drupal, and .htaccess jon335 General 23 16th November 2008 14:22
ISPConfig 2.2.14 released till General 48 20th July 2007 00:46
seperate Mailserver & ISPconfig r00ty General 1 26th May 2007 20:40
fastcgi and php with ispconfig tosser Tips/Tricks/Mods 3 25th June 2006 22:01
FC4 Setup DNS and ISPCONFIG issues The General Installation/Configuration 7 15th May 2006 10:45


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.