#1  
Old 7th September 2007, 13:04
Lord Wodan Lord Wodan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default /etc/hosts question

Ok, Back to the experts.

After playing around with ISPConfig on a testmachine I want to install it on my server to reduce the powerusage in my house haha.

This server runs Debian 4.0r1 with Samba Installed. I followed the tuto of Falko. (a perfect......).

some info:

Computername : Butler
Workgroup : MSHOME (yeah, yeah)
NetBios name : SMBServer
IP : 192.168.1.110

Output of hostname : Butler. Output of hostname -f : Butler.MSHOME

At the start of the tuto I have to edit /etc/hosts

Code:
127.0.0.1       localhost.localdomain   localhost
192.168.0.100   server1.example.com     server1
What do I enter here because server1.example.com is not the output i want from hostname -f

www.sanders-pit.nl will be the first domain run by mij server but its likely a second one comes soon.

I have thougt about 2 options:

Code:
192.168.1.110 butler.MSHOME butler
or

Code:
192.168.1.110 butler.sanders-pit.nl butler
The Samba-config cannot be compromised.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th September 2007, 23:31
chuckl chuckl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Uxbridge, Middlesex, UK
Posts: 166
Thanks: 1
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Default

The domains hosted on your server are virtual hosts and have nothing to do with the name or domain of the server itself.

However, for mail end similar services it is necessary that the server be part of a real domain. server1.mydomain.com, shile not original, does have the advantage of being easily extendable when you add a second server.

On the MSHOME side, I'd change that as rapidly as possible. I don't think you want to connect machines to the internet with MS networking set on default settings.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th September 2007, 23:43
Lord Wodan Lord Wodan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What would be your suggestion?

Except for changing MSHOME?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th September 2007, 00:07
chuckl chuckl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Uxbridge, Middlesex, UK
Posts: 166
Thanks: 1
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Default

If you are hosting sites for the greater internet rather than a corporate or closed network, your server has to have a full qualified domain name that is recognisable on the internet through DNS etc.
This because it has to be findable for websites and ftp and the like, and will almost certainly be sending and receiving mail, RSS feeds and anything else you can think of.
So a valid registered domain and a server name tacked onto that are about a minimum requirement, with the server included in the DNS system somewhere.
That said, I think I'm right in saying that the ISPConfig setup places great store on the hosts and hostname files because Postfix uses them tho generate its mail responses.
I would imagine that with a bit of editing of the Postfix main.cf, you could fix that. I'm not aware of any other implications, but I think Falko and co are a lot better qualified to comment on that than I am.
I would certainly experiment and investigate fairly closely before jumping in to a particular solution.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th September 2007, 00:10
Lord Wodan Lord Wodan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

so?

which answer..?


i am not corporate...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th September 2007, 00:42
chuckl chuckl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Uxbridge, Middlesex, UK
Posts: 166
Thanks: 1
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Default

In a small business or home environment, a typical installation would be that you have a broadband line and a modem router, which can be set to forward incoming traffic like web requests to a single internal IP address e.g. your server.
If all the websites hosted on that server have their DNS correctly set up then there is no particular need for the server itself to be an 'internet' machine rather than a 'local network' machine. A similar effect is obtained when larger organisations use proxy servers and load balancers with backend web servers.

Problems can arise with things like mail, where the server does have to have a defined internet presence, but this is also solvable for low volumes. For instance, it is possible to set up a Postfix mail server to use Gmail or Google Apps for mail, logging on as though it is a mail client rather than a mail server, and let an external mail server do the mail delivery.

So, in a restricted setup , you can do thisfairly easily, the problems occur when you want to widen the scope, as it is not scalable. But it can certainly be made to work, and in that sense, feel free to name the machine whatever you want, with the understanding that Microsoft workgroup or domain network names and DNS network names are not the same thing. Calling your server server1.mshome is not going to work on the internet, it's not a domain name. Calling it server1.mydomain.com is. However, if your server is not diectly connected to the internet, it is accessed by IP address, so the name is irrelevant.
On your home/sbs network with an mshome workgroup and Samba it's a different story, as that is controlled by workgroup/domain machines, users and permissions.
In your examples above, the second is the correct option, as it's a correct domain name. None of it is cast in stone however. If you use the second option and you find your Samba shares no longer work, edit the files and return it to it's original settings.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th September 2007, 12:16
Lord Wodan Lord Wodan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Ok, thanks for your answer.

I will try the second one and see if my shares still work.

Basicly, I still need 2 pc's to do it correctly? One as my fileserver (samba) and one for ISPConfig. Let 1 pc do both is not very handy? is that what you say?

I am using a router an as mentioned, the fileserver has 192.168.1.110.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question from a newbie: can't login on proftpd Chris_elmp Installation/Configuration 2 24th August 2007 22:36
Proftpd stops and general install question JaJunk Installation/Configuration 6 10th May 2007 22:17
sendmail config question westb Server Operation 1 1st September 2006 18:00
Simple question... I think - re: multiple domains. lidocayne Installation/Configuration 1 17th July 2006 12:53
Once again: question about hostname etc. Ronald HOWTO-Related Questions 1 27th June 2006 13:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.