Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2nd December 2005, 16:42
Unknown_X Unknown_X is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Red face I am A newbie I need Help^__^

Hello ppl

I am A newibe 2 server things so I need 2 know all about Having a web server so anyone can Help me?

and my server's Info is:
2.8 GHz
512 RAm

hmmmmm

if You Need any Extra info I will tell Ya

I want 2 know what I need in( hardware and software)

and about my OS it is fedora Core 4
BTW I dont now how 2 Config fedora( I used to use Windows XP OS ) coz I am A fedora Newbie as well and I am using the grahical interface for this OS

I need help so I will wait for Your Replay....

Bye bye
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 2nd December 2005, 16:48
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,262
Thanks: 78
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

ok, you are a newbie - so what ? ;-)
If you need advice please tell us what you want to use the server for?
Will it be a server on the internet, a dedicated one or a virtual one? Or do you just want to experiment with a server at home, using DSL maybe?

If you give us more info and ask some questions we might help you with some advice.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd December 2005, 20:26
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Did you have a look at this tutorial? http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_fedora_core_4

Sooner or later you'll have to work with the command line so you better start now. I recommend that you use PuTTY ( http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~s.../download.html ) as SSH client for your FC4 system on your Windows desktop.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd December 2005, 13:52
Unknown_X Unknown_X is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thank You Tenaka and I want the server 2 be a virtual web hosting we well as using it for my website and using a DSL in my home. so can I use it @ home and what do I need other than the server?
Dear falko
and thanks for the tutorial ^__^
But what is SSh client?
sorry guys but I told You I am A newbie...NO...Extreme Newbie

bye bye ^__^
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd December 2005, 13:57
Unknown_X Unknown_X is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thank You Tenaka and I want the server 2 be a virtual web hosting we well as using it for my website and using a DSL in my home. so can I use it @ home and what do I need other than the server?
Dear falko
and thanks for the tutorial ^__^
But what is SSh client?
sorry guys but I told You I am A newbie...NO...Extreme Newbie

bye bye ^__^
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd December 2005, 14:04
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,262
Thanks: 78
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

If I udnerstood this right you want to do this:

setup a PC at home with linux and connect it to the itnernet with dsl. this machine will serve your website to the net and will also host some other sites?

If you want to stick to fedora I suggest you read through falkos how-to (the link he gave you) and try and set it up on your pc. You WILL get errors and not everything will run, thats usual for a newbie. I guess everybody here had to setu his server up severall times, always learning from past mistakes.
So go ahead and follow the guide. THEN install ispconfig (see instructions on the main website).
AND please play around with it, test it, make sure you know what you are doing before connecting it to the net...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd December 2005, 14:15
Unknown_X Unknown_X is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Should I use the graphical Fedora or the text mode?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd December 2005, 18:19
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,262
Thanks: 78
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

well I guess its better to use text mode because the graphical mode/tools is/are not much more than a frontend to the command line and you should know what clicking a button does => use text mode. Most how-to's are explaining on the command line, you will find things like: do a ps aux and post the output here, as an example - so what are you going to do if you only know graphical mode? start a taskmanager tool and post a screenshot?

My advice is forget about graphics, thats ok if you are using the pc as a workstation but for a server you need to know whats under the hood.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 3rd December 2005, 21:03
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenaka
You WILL get errors and not everything will run, thats usual for a newbie.
Only if you don't follow the tutorial exactly.


Quote:
Should I use the graphical Fedora or the text mode?
Text mode!

Quote:
But what is SSh client?
It allows you to connect to your server from another system (e.g. Windows desktop). You login with your username (e.g. root) and password, and then you have your server's shell on your desktop. It's like telnet, but secure!
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 4th December 2005, 08:50
Unknown_X Unknown_X is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
It allows you to connect to your server from another system (e.g. Windows desktop). You login with your username (e.g. root) and password, and then you have your server's shell on your desktop. It's like telnet, but secure!
aha!
so that means I can use my fedora server from my windows XP?
thats Kool!
and I want 2 use easy 2 admin a web server like Cpanel or plesk can I use them or not?
and (Sorry for that much Of Questions)
how can I use them in text mode?
and whaich one is better using cpanel,Plesk or the normal text codes, because I found the text mode kinda hard for me?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General ISPConfig Newbie Questions christopher Installation/Configuration 1 24th November 2005 09:54
Newbie help needed dathrill General 1 5th November 2005 19:58
Newbie here, needs reassuring... CorrosionX General 13 26th October 2005 22:59
Newbie questions SidSkiba Installation/Configuration 2 29th August 2005 20:51
Newbie question thedude General 2 15th August 2005 14:38


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.