Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th September 2007, 18:40
giggsey giggsey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Added dedicated IP domain, can't access it via IP.

I've added a new domain name, on a dedicated IP address. However, I can't access this domain name via the IP (I can't change the dns yet). How would I make it so I could view the domain contents on the IP address?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th September 2007, 16:58
torusturtle torusturtle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 21
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to torusturtle Send a message via AIM to torusturtle
Default

It's my understanding, that you can't access any domain by IP only because ISPConfig uses virtual domains.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th September 2007, 17:01
giggsey giggsey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Okay thanks, I'll have to transfer the domain over then.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th September 2007, 17:29
torusturtle torusturtle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 21
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to torusturtle Send a message via AIM to torusturtle
 
Default

If you want to test it first. You could add an A DNS entry to a subdomain.
e.g. new.mydomain.tld A IP (the IP of your new domain)

Add the subdomain under CoDomain without any forward and it will show you the main domain on the new server.

Last edited by torusturtle; 9th September 2007 at 17:32.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php eating cpu shajazzi Server Operation 15 15th August 2007 02:19
ISPConfig 2.3.2-dev released till General 9 4th June 2007 11:46
Apache2 Freezes celtic Server Operation 31 28th May 2007 18:18
php script injections Grizzly General 21 18th July 2006 09:55
Questions in regards to ISP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" rbrantley HOWTO-Related Questions 16 10th April 2006 19:26


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.