Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd August 2007, 23:06
aceyzeriat aceyzeriat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 47
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default it possible to run TripWire with ISP_Config ?

I am planning to install this TripWire IDS on my FC6. Has someone else already tried, is there any problem with that ?

thanks and regards,
Arnaud
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th August 2007, 11:09
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,733
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,596 Times in 4,407 Posts
Default

I would not expect any problems on a ISPConfig server, but I did not tested it.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th August 2007, 11:36
aceyzeriat aceyzeriat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 47
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I spent a little bit of time on the spec ...
Tripwire will not interfere with system files, seems to make a complete picture of system files at a given time then just trigger reports in case of undue modifications.

At worst it would trigger an avalanche of alarms and take months to adapt the script to eliminate false positives.

I will try as soon as I have a few days.


Would you recommend another IDS which you tried already ?

To perfprm installation tests I would like to virtualize a second server on the first one,
any recommendation ?
(should I open a specific thread on virtualization ?)

Thanks and regards,
Arnaud
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th August 2007, 16:36
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aceyzeriat
To perfprm installation tests I would like to virtualize a second server on the first one,
any recommendation ?
(should I open a specific thread on virtualization ?)
For testing purposes, I'd use VMware Server, but for production system, I'd use Xen or OpenVZ.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pop3 service alone is failed in "The Perfect Setup - Debian Sarge (3.1)" nandhu HOWTO-Related Questions 60 5th August 2008 16:15
Configuire BIND to run chrooted after install of ISP-Config denmaus Installation/Configuration 3 29th September 2006 12:01
Make webstats run mphayesuk General 1 20th September 2006 19:14
Need a Server to run ISPCONFIG on ! Look Here... jockstrap Tips/Tricks/Mods 23 27th July 2006 12:46
Cannot run systemimager KCPoole HOWTO-Related Questions 1 6th May 2006 16:02


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.