Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th August 2007, 12:03
GerardNijboer GerardNijboer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Hostname and /etc/hosts file? not sure

Hi,

I am doing the Perfect Setup for Ubuntu 6.06 LTS that can be found on:
http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_ubuntu_6.06_p5
I already set the /etc/hosts file, and just filled in something hoping it would all come together later on.
But now, at step 11, I need to set up the mail systems, and for that, I need to be sure of the servername.
The writer of the HOWTO uses, server1.example.com.
Considering the fact that I am the owner of the domain www.monstagames.nl, I think I can use server.monstagames.nl?
But the server is at my home, and has no other .monstagames.nl devices in its network.
I set up my /etc/hosts file like this:
Quote:
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
192.168.1.75 server.monstagames.nl webserver

# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
::1 ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
ff02::3 ip6-allhosts
I hope this looks clear to you, any help is welcome.
Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
Gerard Nijboer
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th August 2007, 16:08
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GerardNijboer
Considering the fact that I am the owner of the domain www.monstagames.nl, I think I can use server.monstagames.nl?
Yes, you can use that hostname, but you should then also create an A record for server.monstagames.nl pointing to your public IP address.

If you have a dynamic IP address, it's better to get a hostname from dyndns.org and use that one.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th August 2007, 13:46
GerardNijboer GerardNijboer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Okay, thanks.
Well, my public IP is always fixed to 80.61.36.XX, so I guess I don't need a DynDNS.org record.
I went to the control panel of my dns provider, and set up an A record to my public IP, and everything works now!
Thanks Falco.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing LAMP On Ubuntu For Newbies aromaman HOWTO-Related Questions 5 23rd August 2007 19:36
Old hostname in /etc/hosts and postfix won't go away KenSentMe Installation/Configuration 1 13th April 2007 09:30
Installing A LAMP System With Fedora Core 6 - Page 4 LAEAGLE HOWTO-Related Questions 11 24th February 2007 14:59
Changing servers hostname rbartz Installation/Configuration 3 16th September 2006 13:54
Logging in to isp config Jrdgames General 43 6th March 2006 19:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.