Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd August 2007, 15:31
Delphinus Delphinus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Change Document Root for Ruby on Rails vhost

Hello

I have a well working ispconfig setup, and have recently installed ruby on rails as well.

To get this working properly though the document root has to be set to the public folder.

I have tried multitudes of techniques to try and get this to work without actually changing the document root...
(for the following we shall assume ~/ is the /webX/ folder
  • Created ~/ruby folder to contain all ruby files, renamed ~/web to ~/web.old, and created a symlink called web pointing to ~/ruby/public.
    Unfortunately ruby looks in the ../ directory for folders such as app. SO instead of looking at ~/ruby/app it was getting ~/app which did not exist.
    Summary - Symlinks do not work
  • Copied all the ruby files, app, scripts, public etc all into the ~ folder and renamed ~/public to ~/web.
    Also tried creating symlink ~/web pointing to ~/public.
    This didn't seem to work either, i'm still digging up whats going on here.
  • Also tried creating an alias ie www.site.com/shop using apache directives in ispconfig. This created weird errors such as index files not loading.

What with the .... fun ... I've been having I'm not going to setting up too many ruby sites, but is there any possible way to change the document root for a single vhost? No files I can hack, lines that can be changed etc?

Sorry for the confusing mess above
Many Thanks for your time.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th August 2007, 10:01
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,985
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,372 Times in 4,219 Posts
Default

You can not change the document root for a single site in ISPConfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th August 2007, 13:35
fareasd fareasd is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Will this be added in future releases?
If I manually change DocumentRoot in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf. it is working for some time, but then it changes back to default.
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th August 2007, 13:38
Delphinus Delphinus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fareasd
Will this be added in future releases?
If I manually change DocumentRoot in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf. it is working for some time, but then it changes back to default.
Thank you.
Even if there was a line in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf after which you could make manual changes. Everything before that line is set by ispconfig.
Or even a Vhosts_ispconfig_custom.conf or something...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th August 2007, 14:15
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,985
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,372 Times in 4,219 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fareasd
Will this be added in future releases?
This is possible in ISPConfig 3 alpha. We currently do not plan to add this in ISPConfig 2.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th August 2007, 14:22
Delphinus Delphinus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
This is possible in ISPConfig 3 alpha. We currently do not plan to add this in ISPConfig 2.
Thanks Till, appreciate it.

I see there are a few 3 alpha releases out, but was wondering if you had a very rough timeframe for a release stable enough for production systems?
I'd offer to help but probably don't have the required skills yet...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th August 2007, 14:25
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,985
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,372 Times in 4,219 Posts
Default

I expect ISPConfig 3 stable to be available at th end of this year.

Quote:
I'd offer to help but probably don't have the required skills yet...
We will release a new alpha release next week. If you like to download, test it and give some feedback, it will be great
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th August 2007, 14:26
Delphinus Delphinus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
I expect ISPConfig 3 stable to be available at th end of this year.
That sounds very reasonable...
Quote:
Originally Posted by till
We will release a new alpha release next week. If you like to download, test it and give some feedback, it will be great
I'm sure we can manage that

Time to sort out my dev server ... So much to do so little time
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28th August 2007, 14:29
fareasd fareasd is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Will it be upgradeable from version 2.2 to 3 stable ?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28th August 2007, 16:19
mlz mlz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 189
Thanks: 16
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
 
Default

If I remember correctly, it will be a one-way upgrade, so you'll be able to upgrade, but not return to 2.2.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
monit howto Jamesk5 HOWTO-Related Questions 11 5th August 2008 15:10
Add Webmin to the system sushestvo Installation/Configuration 44 21st August 2007 16:52
Server Side Includes don't work PermaNoob General 7 1st May 2007 20:38
Apache - Virtual hosts - ISPConfig Hans Server Operation 8 23rd April 2006 16:29
cannot connect to ispconfig guidovanh Installation/Configuration 22 3rd March 2006 19:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.