Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st August 2007, 07:01
hitechwizard hitechwizard is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question ISPConfig behind an OpenBSD binat firewall

I have everything in ISPConfig working, except when I create new domains, the DNS uses the default IP address of the box. This works ok when the IP address of the box is public, however for a system that is behind an OpenBSD firewall with pf binat'ing the outside address, the DNS zone gets populated with the private IP as the server has no clue what's going on at the firewall or the outside IP address. Apache has to have the inside IP since all packets have had their destination changed to the inside address, but for DNS everything needs to be the external. Could someone point me to where the DB/zone file initially gets populated? This would save me quite a bit of time tracing through the code.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st August 2007, 11:25
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,490
Thanks: 835
Thanked 5,533 Times in 4,351 Posts
Default

Just do not enable the dns record auto creation when you create a website and add the DNS records with the correct external IP addtess in the DNS-manager.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd August 2007, 00:23
hitechwizard hitechwizard is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I would still like for it to auto-populate the zones, just with the correct IP address. I've traced it down as far as the multidoc editor, but I'm still looking for where doc type 1012 is being handled.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd August 2007, 10:19
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,490
Thanks: 835
Thanked 5,533 Times in 4,351 Posts
Default

You will have to ptogram this in the action file of the form. You will find the name of the action file in the settings of the form. The action files are PHP classes and located in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/classes/
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
hitechwizard (23rd August 2007)
  #5  
Old 23rd August 2007, 03:20
hitechwizard hitechwizard is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction. Three changed lines in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/classes/ispconfig_isp_web.lib.php and it works like a champ. Now to abstract it to a configuration file and I'll be set.

Thanks again.
Jesse
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPconfig after installation cannot reach www.xyz.de:81 Figth4Linux Installation/Configuration 23 6th March 2008 23:38
ISPConfig Roadmap till Developers' Forum 26 10th June 2007 23:38
ISPConfig 2.3.2-dev released till General 9 4th June 2007 11:46
ISPconfig behind a nat router and firewall laser General 10 14th February 2007 21:06
Firewall and ISPConfig MyLinux General 3 7th September 2005 10:36


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.