Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th August 2007, 05:23
junmin junmin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default how to change the default web directory "/var/www"

hi, i have been running ispconfig for about a month...
but i got a problema now, when i was installing ispconfig, i was thinking that the user's web directories will be /home/, so i give /home the biggest partition!.... so i have to change the default web directory /var/www now...

how can i change it??

i was thinking that,

Code:
move all the content of /var/www to a temp directory
creat a directory named www at /home
move all the content of the temp directory to /home/www
remove the /var/www directoy and then
ln -s /var/www /home/www/
is it OK? will it cause any problem?? thanks.

Last edited by junmin; 20th August 2007 at 05:27.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 20th August 2007, 10:46
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,983
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,372 Times in 4,219 Posts
Default

I recommend the following procedure.

1) the httpd, postfix, pop3,imap and ispconfig service.
2) Move /var/www to /home/www
3) Symlink /var/www to /home/www
4) start ISPConfig:

/etc/init.d/ispconfig_server start

and change the document root under management > server > settings on the web tab.

then execute the following sql statement in the database to update all websites:

update isp_isp_web set status = 'u' where status = '';

Now wait a few minutes until ISPConfig has changed the website config for all sites and start http, pop3, imap and mail daemon again.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th November 2007, 22:15
jmroth jmroth is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 191
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Hmmm... I was trying to change the document root in the web interface for a similar reason, but it did not use the new one I specified, and displayed and used the old one again.
So I changed the document root in the database directly too.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th November 2007, 15:06
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,983
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,372 Times in 4,219 Posts
Default

As you installed your ISPConfig version, did you import the SQL dump manually?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th November 2007, 22:01
jmroth jmroth is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 191
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
As you installed your ISPConfig version, did you import the SQL dump manually?
Oh I really don't remember because I'm using it for a long time now.

Anyway, I was just thinking people might not often change their root directory, so maybe a bug has appeared in that piece of code at some time, and went unnoticed so far.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th November 2007, 08:41
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,983
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,372 Times in 4,219 Posts
Default

The problem that you described is normally caused by inserting the sql dump manually during installation as ISPConfig will not be able to save or read any config settings from the management > server settings part.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th November 2007, 16:05
jmroth jmroth is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 191
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

So what exactly is the difference when I insert it manually?
Doesn't the ISPconfig installation routine just do a "mysql ... < dump.sql" or alike?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th November 2007, 16:10
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,983
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,372 Times in 4,219 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmroth
So what exactly is the difference when I insert it manually?
Your installation is incomplete and all server variables are set to defaults and not to the correct values for your system.

Quote:
Doesn't the ISPconfig installation routine just do a "mysql ... < dump.sql" or alike?
No, the ISPConfig installer creates records dynamically based on your server configuration. These records are not in the SQL dump.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th November 2007, 16:15
jmroth jmroth is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 191
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

How can I actually find out if I imported the SQL dump or let the installer create the stuff?

What should be missing?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th November 2007, 16:22
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,983
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,372 Times in 4,219 Posts
 
Default

Check if you have a record in the table isp_isp_server with doc_id = 1.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exim MTA dazblade Server Operation 4 16th July 2007 18:42
directories in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig renamed? Spudchat General 10 12th April 2007 19:37
Systemimager (rsync) doesn't copy all comedit HOWTO-Related Questions 11 19th January 2007 17:17
Mysterious Install Problem tgansert Installation/Configuration 5 9th May 2006 15:35
setup fails on debian 3.1 dtrumbower Installation/Configuration 7 7th March 2006 13:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.