Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th July 2007, 03:40
sapph sapph is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Co-Domain Leads to Shared IP Message

I am transferring my domains to a new host. I don't want to effect the transfer until I have everything working, obviously, so I bought a test domain I can use. I set the test domain (we'll call it hbtest.info) as a co-domain to the main one (call it h-b.com). I have a subdirectory of h-b.com's doc root called unstable I want hbtest.info to point to.


Here are the co-domain settings:
Hostname: www
Domain: hbtest.info
Create DNS: checked
Create DNS MX: unchecked
Forward: unstable

On my host's DNS panel, I created a zone for hbtest.info. I set the A to the same IP that h-b.com is using. CNAME is set to hbtest.info.

When I browse to hbtest.info, I get the " This IP address is shared. For access to the web site which you look for, enter its address instead of its IP" page.

If any more information is required to solve this problem, please let me know. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th July 2007, 10:42
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,022
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,655 Times in 4,464 Posts
Default

Do not create co-domains with hostname www. The website should have the hostname "www" and then ISPConfig creates a co-domain with an empty hostname automatically for you (when you set the domain limit at least to 2).

If you use a external DNS panel, do not check the create dns checkbox.

You get a shared IP message when you select the wrong IP address in the website settings.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th July 2007, 20:05
sapph sapph is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I removed the www from the hostname of the co-domain.
I unchecked the Create DNS box.
I double checked the IP - it is correct.

I still get the error page.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th July 2007, 20:12
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,263
Thanks: 216
Thanked 649 Times in 295 Posts
Default

Does the forward "unstable" exists within your web?
__________________
Hans

MrHostman | Managed Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th July 2007, 20:27
sapph sapph is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The directory exists, yes.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th July 2007, 20:34
sapph sapph is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just to make sure I am using the correct functionality here:

h-b.com's doc root is /var/www/web1/web
I want hbtest.info's doc root to be /var/www/web1/web/unstable

And, actually, I've got a third domain - w-b.com. I want its doc root to be /var/www/web1/web (the same as h-b.com).

I'm not terribly sure about the best way of doing any of it, I just took my best guess with hbtest.info
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th July 2007, 20:45
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,263
Thanks: 216
Thanked 649 Times in 295 Posts
Default

Does http://www.hbtest.info/unstable/ or http://hbtest.info/unstable/ work if you put it within the forward field?
__________________
Hans

MrHostman | Managed Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th July 2007, 20:47
sapph sapph is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I will try, but wouldn't that be a logical loop? You are defining the location of hbtest.info as hbtest.info/unstable?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th July 2007, 20:57
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,263
Thanks: 216
Thanked 649 Times in 295 Posts
Default

you can specify the target of the forward, e.g. another URL or a path to a directory of your site.

When you forward to a directory within the same web the path should be better indeed.
__________________
Hans

MrHostman | Managed Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 4th July 2007, 20:59
sapph sapph is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Well, I tried it, and I think I was right. Firefox came up with this:

Firefox has detected that the server is redirecting the request for this address in a way that will never complete.

And the address bar showed:

http://hbtest.info/unstable/unstable...able/index.php
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mod_proxy and Shared IP message jlavetan Installation/Configuration 6 22nd June 2007 17:03
This is %#@*&^$# embarrassing! domino Smalltalk 34 5th February 2007 22:57
Howto suggestion suse PhP ver 4 + Ver 5 wwparrish Suggest HOWTO 11 7th August 2006 14:29
SSL related problems senzapaura Installation/Configuration 45 25th March 2006 15:15
postfix config jmroth Installation/Configuration 6 18th September 2005 16:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.