Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th June 2013, 23:42
ginner159 ginner159 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Silsden, UK
Posts: 116
Thanks: 29
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Exclamation Changing hostname from domain.com to ns1.domain.com

hi all and thanks for all the help!!

i have a vps hosted using a solusVM which is running ispconfig 3 and debian 6.
When i first got it i just set the HOSTNAME as mydomain.com but now ive purchased a small 128mb server which im using as a ns2.mydomain.com which i setup with that hostname and have got it connected successfully to the first server.

What im wanting to know is, what do i need to change so the mydomain.com hostname is ns1.mydomain.com and ensure that postfix ispconfig dns etc still works and the other server can still connect (dont mind reinstalling the ns2 as its just a nameserver if needed)

I followed the setup tutorial here (debian 6 perfect server) initially then this(roll ya own dns) when adding my seccond server
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th July 2013, 05:52
id10t id10t is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

Which hostname(s) did you change/set? The one in /etc/hostname or in the mail configs, web address, etc? Or is it your DNS servers only?
__________________
I'm a very happy linode.com customer, I'm sure you will be too!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th July 2013, 11:46
ginner159 ginner159 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Silsden, UK
Posts: 116
Thanks: 29
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I haven't changed it yet as I've been waiting for a reply on what to do. And it's for my main server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th July 2013, 12:42
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

The hostname has to be cahnge din these files:

/etc/hostname
/etc/hosts
/etc/mailname
/etc/postfix/main.cf

then run:

/etc/init.d/hostname restart
/etc/init.d/postfix restart
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
Airbag888 (7th September 2014), ginner159 (21st July 2013)
  #5  
Old 7th September 2014, 21:34
Airbag888 Airbag888 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 20
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
The hostname has to be cahnge din these files:

/etc/hostname
/etc/hosts
/etc/mailname
/etc/postfix/main.cf

then run:

/etc/init.d/hostname restart
/etc/init.d/postfix restart
On Debian Wheezy I had to do /etc/init.d/hostname.sh start

Everything else worked
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
debian 6, hostname, isp config 3

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with ISPConfig Mail and Squirrelmail m.xander Installation/Configuration 109 3rd February 2012 01:15
Virtual Users And Domains With Postfix, Courier, MySQL And SquirrelMail -Ubuntu 8.04 c4rdinal HOWTO-Related Questions 112 23rd August 2011 11:49
Odd Spam behaviour itsnedkeren Installation/Configuration 1 11th December 2010 15:20
Being Spammed/Hacked/Probed not sure PLEASE HELP! kresser General 10 29th October 2010 18:25
Can't access to my website - after install problem pallermo Installation/Configuration 18 4th June 2010 14:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.