#1  
Old 31st July 2007, 18:39
bswinnerton bswinnerton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 502
Thanks: 51
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Default Simple Sub-domain Question

How do i make a subdoman?

As far a testing goes, this is how i set it up, and i obviously didn't do it right because it is not working. Under co-domains i set up folder.mysite.com and under forward i pointed it to http://www.mysite.com/folder.

What else do i have to do to set up a subdomain?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st August 2007, 09:55
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,395
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,490 Times in 4,322 Posts
Default

Please make sure that the subdomain folder.mysite.com esxists in DNS and points to the IP address of the website.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st August 2007, 17:13
bswinnerton bswinnerton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 502
Thanks: 51
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Default

What if i have a dynamic ip address? And use a service like dyndns? How would i do it then?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st August 2007, 18:55
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Create a CNAME record for folder.mysite.com that points to your.dyndns.org address.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st August 2007, 21:49
bswinnerton bswinnerton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 502
Thanks: 51
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
 
Default

The cname record i would be making in dyndns, or ispconfig?

EDIT - Stupid question. I have to do it in dyndns because they handle my dns.

Last edited by bswinnerton; 1st August 2007 at 21:55.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a simple question on sub-domain forwarding... I think... dimas Installation/Configuration 11 4th August 2007 11:38
real simple question .... expatCM HOWTO-Related Questions 1 10th June 2007 14:35
Quick question regarding domain names web folder Fintan Moloney General 2 24th May 2007 10:02
Simple question... I think - re: multiple domains. lidocayne Installation/Configuration 1 17th July 2006 11:53
simple question: re domain www.foobar.com.foobar.com bryxal Installation/Configuration 2 2nd June 2006 22:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.