#1  
Old 29th March 2007, 11:15
dimitar dimitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 64
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Site Preview

Hi All,

is there a way to preview the newly created sites before DNS change takes effect?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th March 2007, 11:30
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,421
Thanks: 812
Thanked 5,205 Times in 4,081 Posts
Default

You may use the hosts file on your workstation:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5687
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th March 2007, 11:49
dimitar dimitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 64
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks, but will it not be a good idea to improve this leak in the ispconfig code, i think this is leak because editing some files to enable preview is not a good way... because most of the clients are "low level" users - and forcing them to edit some files is a bad idea, beside that editing some host files to see a simple website seems not very professional for the clients

I will suggest very simple fix: when creating a website the source code must only add an alias to the virtual host for example when creating site test.org on server server123.domain.org just adding an alias to apache virtual host : ServerAlias test.org.server123.domain.org <---- simple fix but works for me, the only thing what schould be done is adding DNS entry which points to *.server123.domain.org, and then all customers problems go away......
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th March 2007, 12:43
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default Another preview

What i normally do if a preview is required:

Within ISPConfig i create a new website for the client, like http://subdomain.myhostingcompany.com. (A temporary subdomain).

Doing so, the client can verify the site, even before changing the DNS-records for that domainname.

If everything is ok, i change the http://subdomain.myhostingcompany.com. to http://www.clientswebsite.com by changing the hostname and domainname within ISPConfig for that specific website.

A very simple but useful & practic solution.
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th June 2007, 16:14
RickC RickC is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

hans, please can you explain how i would go about creating a temp subdomain i have been trying all afternoon, but they wont resolve
Kind regards,

Rick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Site Skeletons rbartz Feature Requests 11 29th November 2008 16:07
ISPConfig stop working after i add a new site xTiNcTion Installation/Configuration 4 5th January 2007 23:55
Static Web Site Configurations christopher Installation/Configuration 8 18th November 2006 14:43
unsuccessful site creation, site not listed, will not delete ronee Installation/Configuration 10 26th October 2006 10:30
Preview new site not still visible for DNS updating adrenalinic Installation/Configuration 1 12th May 2006 10:51


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.