Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th July 2007, 23:06
valtech valtech is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Perfect server setup for 7.04 - no internet

Hi and thanks for a great tutorial!
Ran into a slight problem that puzzled me. A bit of background info.
Internet connection is provided by an ADSL modem-router, which has a PC (Ubuntu 6.10) connected to it by CAT5 and a laptop on the wireless (also with 6.10 on it). My new server is now also connected to it via CAT5. My ISP is Eclipse (UK) and the router WAN IP is 'auto/assigned by ISP'.

Previouslly, I've setup for using DHCP and all worked OK. All computers got onto internet, inc. the new server.

Now I configured the router and the other PCs on the same network to use static IP, done the mods described on p3 of the tutorial to the server config files to convert to static IP and assign server name. I gave the server its IP address (unique one), changed the other two values to match up with network IP settings.
I got in /etc/network/interfaces:

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.0.33
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.0.0
broadcast 192.168.0.255
gateway 192.168.0.1 <===== router IP

and in /etc/hosts:

127.0.0.1 localhost localhost
192.168.0.33 server1.valtechcomputers.com server1

# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
::1 ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
ff02::3 ip6-allhosts

Restarted everything.

What I got now is all PCs connect to internet OK, but the server cannot. It
correctly responds to 'hostname'.
Found this out while attmepting to get updates.
I can ping all PCs and the router from the server and vice versa.

Had a look at the router setup and network name for LAN was set to valtechcomputers, so I thought this may conflict, so I changed /etc/hosts/ to: server1.valtechcomputers <==== dropped the .com
Still the same - pings but no internet on server.
Then, thinking that the network/domain name should be in name.com format changed the other way round - router to valtechcomputers.com and the /etc/hosts/ to the same.
No change.
Re-intalled Ubuntu and followed the procedure to the point just before editing /etc/hosts, thinking the host setup may have confused the matters.
Ditto.......

Any ideas? Is this to do with me being on variable IP on the WAN side? I know Eclipse can provide a static IP - worth doing?
It must be something very silly that I'm doing (or not!) to get into this situation. As I said, all works OK when set to DHCP, regardless of the network name setup in the router.

Sorry about such a long post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th July 2007, 14:35
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

What's the output of
Code:
ifconfig
and
Code:
route -nee
with the current (not-working) setup and with the preious setup where you used DHCP?
What's in /etc/resolv.conf?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th July 2007, 13:25
valtech valtech is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Could not believe this!
Powered up this morning and off it went with the updates! Without any changes made and still set up for static IP! Thank you for your kind help. I only wish I knew what caused it to not connect last time!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 05:35
The Perfect Setup - Ubuntu 6.06 LTS Server and SPAM Virus Filtering WaveQam HOWTO-Related Questions 5 19th January 2007 22:18
The Perfect Setup - Ubuntu 6.10 Server (Edgy Eft) - Page 4 hal2710 Installation/Configuration 4 4th January 2007 15:17
Administrator receive empty mail ??? Stanev General 16 7th April 2006 20:56
Server can't "see" the internet Luciano Installation/Configuration 8 22nd August 2005 23:22


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.