Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th July 2007, 05:56
starkana starkana is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation Unable to connect to home server using PuTTY!

Hello,

I've recently followed the step-by-step instructions for the Debian 4.0 perfect setup. Once I arrived at page three and installed SSL and OpenSSL server, modified my hostname, and rebooted I tried to connect to my server with PuTTY but the connection timed out.

I installed Debian 4.0 on a laptop right next to my primary laptop running windows. Both laptops are connected to a Linksys router (WRT54G). I've configured the router to have DMZ enabled on the host IP 192.168.1.100. Then I've port forwarded port 80 and 22 (TCP/UDP) to 192.168.1.100. I tried to connect again to my server (laptop) and it still failed. Notice: I am using eth1.

Can anyone help me with this? Thank so much!

Last edited by starkana; 28th July 2007 at 12:11.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28th July 2007, 11:08
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Please execute the following command on your debian server and post the output:

netstat -tap | grep ssh
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th July 2007, 12:10
starkana starkana is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Lightbulb Fixed!

Hello Till,

I've fixed the problem. Turns out my Linux box was configured on the wrong network. It was set to 192.168.0.100 when it should of been 192.168.1.100. I figured this out by checking the IP on Windows using ipconfig and it told me that my IP was 192.168.1.101. Then I tried ifconfig on my other computer and it told me I was on 192.168.0.100. I hope this will answer the question for others who experience the same problem.

Regards,
Aco
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 13:19
Problems with Postfix Mysql Courier PatrickAdrichem Installation/Configuration 3 13th April 2007 16:44
HotSaNIC domino Tips/Tricks/Mods 23 6th November 2006 06:19
mail problem - authentication (postfix,ISPconfig) marclar General 57 24th June 2006 17:24
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 03:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.