Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th July 2007, 19:08
chez17 chez17 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Perfect Setup Ubuntu 7, SSH Question

In the Perfect Setup tutorial for Ubuntu 7.04, you mention connecting with PuTTY. I have no idea how to do this, can someone give me a breif explination? Here is my situation:

I am on a laptop running XP that connects to the router wirelessly
The box that has ubuntu on it is connected to the router with a cable

I tried entering 192.168.0.100 into PuTTY on the windows client and it brings up the prompt screen, but it is completely blank and I can not type anything, after a while an error pops up, 'Network error: Connection timed out'. I am completely 100% new to all this, any help would be appreciated.

Dave
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th July 2007, 19:27
inshimbi inshimbi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You are getting the message for a few reasons. The ones I can think of are.

1. you dont have sshd running on your linux box. If so make sure you have ssh server installed, you can install openssh or something like that.

2. If sshd is running, maybe your router is blocking port 22 and you need to unblock it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th July 2007, 19:31
chez17 chez17 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

In the tutorial, I ran:

apt-get install ssh openssh-server

So i think its installed. Do I need to do anything else to get it running? If my router is blocking that port, how do I unblock it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th July 2007, 21:54
inshimbi inshimbi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you installed it like that you shouldn't have to do anything but...who knows.

run lsof -i on your terminal window and see if you see something like this sshd 642 root 3u IPv4 1287 TCP *:ssh (LISTEN)

are you trying to connect to it from somewhere else outside your network or are u at home and trying to connect using a different machine?

The reason I ask this is I work for a company that has port 22 outgoing blocked, and i get the same error you get. I do however can access my machine from other networks including my own.

To make sure your router is accepting port 22 incoming u have to edit your router config via a web interface, should be in router manual, this is different for each router.

also you might have to check on your terminal if port 22 is disabled...
by doing iptables -L (this depends on whether you are running iptables or not)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th July 2007, 23:34
chez17 chez17 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, so everything started typing with in caps for no reason and It wouldn't even startup so I am currently reinstalling it. I have a feeling if somebody who knew what they were doing was watching me, it would be pretty damn funny. As I said, I literally have no idea whats going on. So I am using the prefect setup tutorial and I have gotten to page 3. I have installed ssh. I am trying to connect to the box form my laptop over a LAN. I am connected to my linksys router wirelessly from the laptop. The linux box is connected to the router with a cable.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th July 2007, 00:34
chez17 chez17 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, I got it working! I connected with PuTTY. On to the next problem. Now my computer is using the dhcp way of connecting. I am trying to follow this step in the tutorial.:

Code:
# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address 192.168.0.100
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        network 192.168.0.0
        broadcast 192.168.0.255
        gateway 192.168.0.1
The problem is that before I do that, my box can connect to the internet, I can ping a site and get a response. If I do this step and restart the network, the pings no longer work. I lose the connection. I should add that my router's address is 192.168.1.1, but if I try putting that in for network or gateway, the network wont even restart. You can see the tutorial here:

http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_ubuntu704_p3

Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th July 2007, 01:46
inshimbi inshimbi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok...

if your router's ip is 192.168.1.1

then the Ip of ur machine should be in the form 192.168.1.XXX where XXX could be 100 or whatever

Since u said its Ip right now is 192.168.0.100, thats in a completely different subnet than 192.168.1.1
and the gateway should be 192.168.1,1
so change the IP and try it
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th July 2007, 03:10
chez17 chez17 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK, I'm making progress. Before I couldn't get the internet to work with a static ip or ssh in. Now I CAN get the internet but still can't ssh in. Im not sure. I have the ip address as 192.168.1.17, and it still wont work. Im stuck.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28th July 2007, 10:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
 
Default

What's the output of
Code:
ifconfig
on the Ubuntu system?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Perfect Setup - Ubuntu 6.10 Server Question n74jw HOWTO-Related Questions 5 27th January 2008 12:14
How stable/secure is the server after the Perfect Setup (Ubuntu 6.06) install? carloscastaneda HOWTO-Related Questions 6 3rd February 2007 18:34
The Perfect Setup - Ubuntu 6.06 LTS Server and SPAM Virus Filtering WaveQam HOWTO-Related Questions 5 19th January 2007 22:18
Ubuntu setup using SSH LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 9 16th April 2006 16:11
Ubuntu "the perfect setup with RAID 1" Hans Installation/Configuration 1 16th January 2006 17:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.