Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st November 2005, 10:50
Brenton Brenton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 68
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default Apache2 On Suse 9.3 Optimizing?

Hi

First off, I've googled this for a few days now with no real joy.

I have a server set up on a that hosts one site and it seems to be very
slow. The first page can take up to a minute to render. The same site
on a shared hosting plan on RH ES 3 is much quicker.

Not sure what kind of info I need to provide, but maybe somebody can
access the live site and the test site and let me know how to speed
things up?

Live site: http://www.waterfront.co.za
Test server http://196.41.26.38

The default suse setup does seem to be very slow even on my internal
testing box.

Sorry for the vague post, but I don't want to post reams of config data
not being clear what will be of use here.

Regards
Brenton
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st November 2005, 11:17
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Yes, the test server is very slow. It seems as if the test server is thinking and thinking before it decides to deliver pages...

Is the server in a local network behind a router, or is it connected directly to the internet? What's the load like on the test server? Run
Code:
top
to find out.
Also can you post the output of
Code:
ifconfig
and
Code:
iptables -L
? Is there anything in the Apache error log (normally under /var/log/apache or /var/log/httpd)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st November 2005, 11:40
Brenton Brenton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 68
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Hi Falko

Thanks for the reply. I used the steps on Howtoforge to install apache2, mysql and php5 on SuSE 9.3.

top output:
Tasks: 97 total, 1 running, 96 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
Cpu(s): 0.0% us, 0.0% sy, 0.0% ni, 100.0% id, 0.0% wa, 0.0% hi, 0.0% si
Mem: 2050176k total, 236812k used, 1813364k free, 41084k buffers
Swap: 4208944k total, 0k used, 4208944k free, 65132k cached

ifconfig output:
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0E:0C:4A:E6:CF
inet addr:196.41.26.38 Bcast:196.41.26.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::20e:cff:fe4a:e6cf/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:56631 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:7172 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:4281095 (4.0 Mb) TX bytes:2893903 (2.7 Mb)
Base address:0xef80 Memory:dffe0000-e0000000

iptables -L output:
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

There are no real problems in the logs.

It seems to render the whole index.php on the server, which contains a number of .inc files before sending the the browser.

I've tried it on another server and get the same kind of delay. This server is also based the steps on steps on the Howtoforge site. the site is here: http://www.backwater.co.za/

This has me very stumped.

Regards
Brenton

It seems to render the whole page
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st November 2005, 11:49
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Looks ok.

What happens if you put a simple static html file on the server? Do you have the same delay, or is it served fast?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st November 2005, 12:01
Brenton Brenton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 68
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Hi

Here is a normal html file with images being called off another server and it loads very quick:
http://196.41.26.38/mailers/2005_nov...ter/index.html

This is a 64bit server btw, if this makes any difference.

Regards
Brenton
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st November 2005, 13:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Then it seems to be a problem with your PHP files. Are they very complicated, do they make a lot of database queries, etc.?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd November 2005, 05:41
Brenton Brenton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 68
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Hi Falko

Nope, the home page has very little in the line of db queries. The only area that is populated from the db is the "Other highlights for this month:" on the right hand side.

There is a large number of DSS and SSI calls in the page though.

Regards
Brenton
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd November 2005, 05:42
Brenton Brenton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 68
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Hi again,

it should be CSS and SSI calls.

Brenton
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22nd November 2005, 12:15
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Can you try these test files: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=171 to see if SSI is working correctly? If not, you might have to enable SSI in Yast.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28th November 2005, 08:50
Brenton Brenton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 68
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
 
Default

Hi

Okay. I've spent the last few days trying all kinds of things with no real luck.

I then did a fresh install on my local server as things had gotten a tad messy.

I deployed the site as a virtual site and it loaded instantly, then I started doing the steps I normally have to do to get this site working and found when I set:

register_globals = On in php.ini

the problem started all over again.

So that seems to be the problem, now to find a solution. Any help or pointers will be great.

Regards
Brenton
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PHP on Apache2 no longer works after ISPconfig azorman Installation/Configuration 6 23rd July 2006 22:06
SuSE 10 No Mysql-devel gwendri Installation/Configuration 4 15th November 2005 12:41
Suse 9.3 - Setting up the basics (File and Print Services) creativehook Suggest HOWTO 1 16th October 2005 20:50
Upgrading from SUSE 9.3 to 10.0 dlplnx Installation/Configuration 1 6th October 2005 10:37
Apt for rpm: SuSE 9.3 steve HOWTO-Related Questions 2 12th May 2005 16:54


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.