Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd July 2007, 09:07
lano lano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 94
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default Problem with install Debian Etch on a Software Raid 1

Hi
I need someone to tell me, what I am doing wrong. I installed Etch on 2x 250GB sata disks acording to instruction that I found on this site http://ads.wars-nicht.de/blog/archiv...ATA-disks.html
However, when I remove sdb disk, system will boot fine from sda, but when I remove sda disk, system will not boot.
Looks like the grub is not installed on sdb disk. Could someone please tell me, how to fix this, or maybe even some other way to install software raid1? Perfect setup maybe?

Thanks, David
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th July 2007, 13:38
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Can you post the output of
Code:
df -h
or
Code:
mount
? I guess the partition where /boot is on isn't mirrored.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th July 2007, 09:07
lano lano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 94
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
 
Default

Here is, how I solved the problem. Problem was, that grub wasnt installed in /dev/sdb. So I did folowing steps:

First I edited /boot/grub/menu.lst to make sure that system will boot from sdb.
Code:
vi /boot/grub/menu.lst
On top of existing stanza I put:
Code:
title           Debian GNU/Linux, kernel 2.6.8-2-386 (hd1)
root            (hd1,0)
kernel          /vmlinuz-2.6.8-2-386 root=/dev/md2 ro
initrd          /initrd.img-2.6.8-2-386
savedefault
boot
then I started grub command shell `grub`
Code:
grub
At the 'grub' shell prompt I created new boot records for both drives:
Code:
root (hd0,0)
setup (hd0)
root (hd1,0)
setup (hd1)
quit
Test went fine this time.
Final step was adding fallback entry, that will automaticlly choose the next item in the menu if the first one fails. In /boot/grub/menu.lst I added entry `fallback 1` just below the `default 0` entry.
Code:
vi /boot/grub/menu.lst
Code:
default 0
fallback 1
Replacement of the simulated failed disk went perfect by Falko's instructions here http://www.howtoforge.com/replacing_..._a_raid1_array .

Any comment or better solution is apritiated.

David
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to lano For This Useful Post:
falko (26th July 2007)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need to install raid 1, on linux, which controller do u suggest? lyndros Installation/Configuration 5 5th August 2007 11:06
cacert.org SSL Chained Certificates for Debian Etch steve1084 Suggest HOWTO 7 1st July 2007 13:32
Debian Etch (Debian 4.0) apache2 file needed Dekalb Installation/Configuration 3 1st June 2007 23:40
Debian Etch: After the kernel package install, lilo.conf is not changed milos Kernel Questions 5 30th May 2007 23:16
The Perfect Xen 3.0.3 Setup For Debian Sarge iptables problem on dom0 ren22 HOWTO-Related Questions 21 7th January 2007 19:32


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.