Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th December 2009, 20:27
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 207
Thanks: 17
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default IP adres range for server in datacenter

Hi all,

I am finaly moving my server from home to an data center.
Now I have installed it (the perfect setup with Debian 5) clean untill the chancing of the ip-adres.

At home I must use the following as stated in the howto,

Code:
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
#allow-hotplug eth0
#iface eth0 inet dhcp
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address 192.168.0.100
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        network 192.168.0.0
        broadcast 192.168.0.255
        gateway 192.168.0.1
And chance the address to the one I used for my server.

But now in the data center I must obvious use the ip given to me, But do i chance the network and broadcast also to the same ip range?
Something like this:

Code:
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
#allow-hotplug eth0
#iface eth0 inet dhcp
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address 93.140.xxx.xxx
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        network 93.140.xxx.0
        broadcast 93.140.xxx.255
        gateway 93.140.xxx.254
Or must i leave it as the home networking ip range so 192.168.0.0 and 192.168.0.255

TIA
__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th December 2009, 09:34
Mark_NL Mark_NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 912
Thanks: 12
Thanked 100 Times in 96 Posts
Default

Quote:
Or must i leave it as the home networking ip range so 192.168.0.0 and 192.168.0.255
No, 192.168.0.x is a local range, and should not be used for WAN stuff, since the routers won't rout it at all .. anyway .. to not get to technical, from what info you give us, i think it should be something like this:

Code:
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address 93.140.xxx.yyy
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        network 93.140.xxx.0
        broadcast 93.140.xxx.255
        gateway 93.140.xxx.254
I don't know if your ISP provided you with all those fields, so the network and gateway is a guess ;-)

Last edited by Mark_NL; 15th December 2009 at 09:46.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th December 2009, 19:28
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 207
Thanks: 17
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_NL View Post
No, 192.168.0.x is a local range, and should not be used for WAN stuff, since the routers won't rout it at all .. anyway .. to not get to technical, from what info you give us, i think it should be something like this:

Code:
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address 93.140.xxx.yyy
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        network 93.140.xxx.0
        broadcast 93.140.xxx.255
        gateway 93.140.xxx.254
I don't know if your ISP provided you with all those fields, so the network and gateway is a guess ;-)
Yes that's what I thought also.
I have got provided to me the IPadres the subnetmask and the gateway but not the network and broadcast...
__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th December 2009, 11:05
Mark_NL Mark_NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 912
Thanks: 12
Thanked 100 Times in 96 Posts
Default

you can actually calculate those when you have the IP and netmask ..
so my next question: what is your ip and netmask?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mark_NL For This Useful Post:
DaRKNeSS666NL (16th December 2009)
  #5  
Old 16th December 2009, 13:38
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Check out this site - it might help you: http://subnetmask.info/
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th December 2009, 19:54
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 207
Thanks: 17
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Think I got it now with your help.

But 1 qustion left what does it do the network & broadcast is it some kind of dhcp server??
__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th December 2009, 19:59
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 207
Thanks: 17
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_NL View Post
you can actually calculate those when you have the IP and netmask ..
so my next question: what is your ip and netmask?
We had it correct the whole time i guess
Code:
network 93.140.xxx.0
        broadcast 93.140.xxx.255
        gateway 93.140.xxx.254
__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th December 2009, 10:18
Mark_NL Mark_NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 912
Thanks: 12
Thanked 100 Times in 96 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaRKNeSS666NL View Post
Think I got it now with your help.

But 1 qustion left what does it do the network & broadcast is it some kind of dhcp server??
Broadcastaddress can be seen as some kind of radiochannel. Everything you say on that frequency can be heared by the people who are tuned in onto that frequency. The network can be seen as the range the frequency can get (f.e. you cannot a get spanish radio channel in your country).

http://compnetworking.about.com/cs/p...bldef_dhcp.htm

http://compnetworking.about.com/od/w...subnetmask.htm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel 82815 Video Card & Ubuntu 8.10 harvey527 Kernel Questions 8 5th November 2010 14:51
ispconfig vs firewall port range H2SO4 General 4 29th May 2009 11:39
Mandriva 2008.1 Spring squealing miodragz Installation/Configuration 6 17th May 2008 23:41
ISPConfig Firewall Bastille udp port range stefanr Installation/Configuration 6 31st January 2008 17:45
High Availability Samba cluster - DRBD + Heartbeat djalex Server Operation 58 25th May 2007 19:38


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.