Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 28th January 2008, 12:54
andeas-2008 andeas-2008 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ah, another question: Does the passive loadbalancer overtake the private IP from the active one in case of a failover? Otherwise you will loose your gateway then ...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 28th January 2008, 14:29
spitzbueb spitzbueb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

hi

1. That's correct, imho.

2. Dito

Yes it overtakes the public ip, as you configured it in heartbeat.

But you can enable routing and add the default gateway to the passive load balancer at the beginning. So if anything goes wrong with the active loadbalancer it should work if the public ip is overtaken by the passive load balancer.
I can not tell you if it's really working, because I stopped using this configuration in a productive environment over vmware.
I had difficulties with the loadbalancer, it stopped sharing the traffic, but hearbeat wasn't aware of it... So no access to the websites even with two loadbalancers...

regards
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Private or Public IP settings kyriakos Installation/Configuration 1 20th February 2006 13:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.