Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th July 2007, 19:50
krakoukas krakoukas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 64
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default [Multiple ISPConfig servers] Howto select best server for remoting account creation?

Hi,

I am running ISPConfig on one server. For scalability reason, I need to have a second server (maybe more in the future). But I found nothing about easily managing this situation.

For a single server, I have written a "register.php" page that works.
Now, I would like to automatically choose the less "already created user and quota" server. To create account on the "best" server...

I have installed the new server giving to same MySQL server, but I had to define different ISPConfig databases: "db_ispconfig" and "db_ispconfig_1".

I am thinking about making a dirty hack with sql connect to both db to make my own server select. Then redirect to the account creation page (using the selected server remoting).

I am not sure this is the best way of doing it:
- Will it be compatible with a future ISPconfig v3 update?
- Is there any body that already made a "select my remote server" function?
- Has anyone ever been in the same situation, and what solutions have you found?

Any help is welcome,
Thanks

I have also read this thread : OpenSSI
Anybody tried it?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th July 2007, 14:27
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

With the remoting extension for ISPConfig, you can add users to as many servers as you like. there is no connection to the SQL server nescessary as the remoting framework works with the SOAP XML protocol.

Quote:
- Will it be compatible with a future ISPconfig v3 update?
ISPConfig 3 is a complete new and different software, it is not directly compatible to ISPConfig 2.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th July 2007, 15:58
krakoukas krakoukas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 64
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
With the remoting extension for ISPConfig, you can add users to as many servers as you like.
Sure it is! But each each server has its own remoting connection, so my inscription page needs to know all my available servers to be able to create account on the least used.

I have the same reseller account created on each server, then I must get web list from each one to make a "web_speicher" sum and select server which has the more web space left...

So each time I add a server, I must add its remoting parameters to my init stage that selects server before displaying the account creation form.

If anyone is interested in such a php form, I'll post it when done...
But if you already have one, I'll be glad to have it.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th July 2007, 19:57
krakoukas krakoukas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 64
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default Multiple servers same database

I was thinking about define the same database for all my ISPconfig servers by changing it in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/config.inc.php

In this case all servers will know my entire setup (reseller, client, web),
May be the configuration will be applied to all servers filesystem...
But users will be routed to the good one by DNS...

I think I must add all my servers in table "isp_server". And may be tweak a little code...

Do you think it is possible or will it makes conflicts?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th July 2007, 20:01
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
 
Default

This will not work as ISPConfig sets a status field on changed records which will be reset after the changes are written to disk. So only one server will execute the changes in your setup, the one that first recognized the changes.

The setup that you want is supported in ISPConfig 3 but not in ISPConfig 2.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 13:19
Install ISPConfig on CentOS Server, in brief gfts Tips/Tricks/Mods 11 4th April 2006 09:29
Email - Ueb-Miau mazhar Installation/Configuration 5 21st December 2005 11:01
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 03:30
Server Hostname and IPSConfig Lil'Brudder Installation/Configuration 2 14th October 2005 13:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.