Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd July 2007, 09:00
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 7
Thanked 56 Times in 51 Posts
Default Customer A sends Customer B Mails, tagged as spam (same machine)

Hi folks,

did not knew how to get a better topic for my problem. My server, managed with ISPConfigs sometimes tags mails as spam when customer A sends an email to customer B while both are homed on the same machine.
The SA Infos about why it tagged are the follwing:
Quote:
pts rule name description

---- ---------------------- --------------------------------------------------

2.3 CTYPE_001C_A CTYPE_001C_A

0.5 FH_MSGID_01C67 Special MSGID

0.0 HTML_MESSAGE BODY: HTML included in message

1.6 RCVD_IN_SORBS_DUL RBL: SORBS: sent directly from dynamic IP address

[84.58.47.146 listed in dnsbl.sorbs.net]

0.5 RCVD_IN_PBL RBL: Received via a relay in Spamhaus PBL

[84.58.47.146 listed in zen.spamhaus.org]

0.1 RDNS_DYNAMIC Delivered to trusted network by host with

dynamic-looking rDNS

0.3 DYN_RDNS_SHORT_HELO_HTML Sent by dynamic rDNS, short HELO, and HTML
Regarding the sender IP, sure its the clients dialup IP from the machine it sended the E-Mail via Outlook...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th July 2007, 15:08
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,665
Thanks: 1,896
Thanked 2,590 Times in 2,442 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben
Regarding the sender IP, sure its the clients dialup IP from the machine it sended the E-Mail via Outlook...
So that's not your server's IP address? Does your server have a static IP address?

I've had the same problem about three weeks ago when I send someone a mail, but it bounced because my IP address (not the one of my mail server) was blacklisted. But I'm not sure why this happened...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th July 2007, 15:15
minskog minskog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 73
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

this happen to me and i can't find solution

The problem is spamassasin, because if you put these black lists in postfix main.cf take de servers ip, but spamassasin takes client ip, i dont know why ....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th July 2007, 20:19
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 7
Thanked 56 Times in 51 Posts
Default

No the IP is I guess the client ones. But not the one of my server. The server itself has a static IP.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th July 2007, 13:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,665
Thanks: 1,896
Thanked 2,590 Times in 2,442 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by minskog
this happen to me and i can't find solution

The problem is spamassasin, because if you put these black lists in postfix main.cf take de servers ip, but spamassasin takes client ip, i dont know why ....
Yes, seems to be a SpamAssassin problem: http://lists.roaringpenguin.com/pipe...er/017476.html
(I think it's really stupid to block client IP addresses... )

According to http://spamassassin.taint.org/doc/Ma...ssin_Conf.html , you could put
Code:
skip_rbl_checks 1
into your SpamAssassin configuration to fix this problem.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th July 2007, 14:24
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 7
Thanked 56 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Yes, SA also checks RBLs in case of authenticated users and not only the "anonymmously" delivered emails.
I discussed this also with some others and there was the idea of "submission", that means to have one port, where only authenticated users may deliver emails but these are then not checked for spam.
I will try this and update here if and how it works.

EDIT: Well in an ISPConfig Szenario it won't work, cause SA gets called via procmail. So procmail has to determine if the mail that's shipped through SA comes from an authenticated user or not. Does anybody got an idea here?

Last edited by Ben; 5th July 2007 at 17:26.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th July 2007, 17:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,665
Thanks: 1,896
Thanked 2,590 Times in 2,442 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben
EDIT: Well in an ISPConfig Szenario it won't work, cause SA gets called via procmail. So procmail has to determine if the mail that's shipped through SA comes from an authenticated user or not. Does anybody got an idea here?
You added
Code:
skip_rbl_checks 1
to SpamAssassin's configuration, and emails were still flagged as spam?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 7th July 2007, 12:49
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 7
Thanked 56 Times in 51 Posts
Default

@falko: But this implies that spamassasin does do not an RBL Check generally.
Sure it solves the problem + more.

To wipe out the more it would be ok if it would be possible to change the user's procmail.rc to only run SA in case of the mail came from an mailaccount not homed on the same system.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 9th July 2007, 13:49
minskog minskog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 73
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Yes, seems to be a SpamAssassin problem: http://lists.roaringpenguin.com/pipe...er/017476.html
(I think it's really stupid to block client IP addresses... )

According to http://spamassassin.taint.org/doc/Ma...ssin_Conf.html , you could put
Code:
skip_rbl_checks 1
into your SpamAssassin configuration to fix this problem.
Yes, but i format this server, install fresh ispconfig and now spamassasin works ok. With the same server ip and sending from same clients Could be any procmail configuration directive?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 9th July 2007, 15:21
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 7
Thanked 56 Times in 51 Posts
 
Default

@Falko: Temporaryly (till I find a better solution), I added the line to
"/home/admispconfig/ispconfig/tools/spamassassin/etc/mail/spamassassin/local.cf"
was this the right config file for SA? And if so, how do I prevent this file to be overwritten
after upgrading ISPConfig?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SA points below configured limits, but mail still gets tagged as spam nl0pat HOWTO-Related Questions 7 3rd May 2007 14:29
All mails from my server go to spam evicon General 3 6th December 2006 19:46
Howto move spam mails to .Spam and .SpamSure? Guido64 HOWTO-Related Questions 1 9th August 2006 16:53
all mails sent end up in yahoo/gmail SPAM folder cpcpy General 15 15th March 2006 16:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.