Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24th November 2005, 17:04
sushestvo sushestvo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Can't start ProFTPd, worked fine before

Ok, I had ProFTPD running about 3 months now w/o any problems.
All the sudden yesterday when I tried to connect ftp was down. So I checked, then tried to start it. Got this back:
proftpd: - warning: AuthPAMAuthoritative is deprecated
- getaddrinfo 'discovery.lockdns.com' error: Name or service not known
- warning: unable to determine IP address of 'discovery.lockdns.com'
- getaddrinfo 'discovery.lockdns.com' error: Name or service not known
- warning: unable to determine IP address of 'discovery.lockdns.com'
- getaddrinfo 'discovery.lockdns.com' error: Name or service not known
- warning: unable to determine IP address of 'discovery.lockdns.com'
- getaddrinfo 'discovery.lockdns.com' error: Name or service not known
- warning: unable to determine IP address of 'discovery.lockdns.com'

I really I don't understand why this is happening.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th November 2005, 17:30
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,733
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,596 Times in 4,407 Posts
Default

I assume you have an dynamic DNS record at lockdns.com that is: discovery.lockdns.com ? Please check if discovery.lockdns.com is still active and working.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th November 2005, 04:07
sushestvo sushestvo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the IP address still the same. It's dedicated server with static IPs.
You can open discovery.lockdns.com w/o any problems.
Could have my domain registry changed something? But then why would it still open the address fine?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th November 2005, 10:49
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,733
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,596 Times in 4,407 Posts
Default

What output do you get when you execute this command on the shell on your server:

dig discovery.lockdns.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th November 2005, 14:16
sushestvo sushestvo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

; <<>> DiG 9.2.5 <<>> discovery.lockdns.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

that doesn't sound good
how do I fix this
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th November 2005, 14:55
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,733
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,596 Times in 4,407 Posts
Default

You need a working nameserver in your resolv.conf:

/etc/resolv.conf

The vormat of the file is:

nameserver [IP-OF-THE NAMESERVER]

You may have more then one nameserver. The first nameserver shall be the IP of the server itself, if you are running BIND DNS Server.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25th November 2005, 15:29
sushestvo sushestvo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
You need a working nameserver in your resolv.conf:

/etc/resolv.conf

The vormat of the file is:

nameserver [IP-OF-THE NAMESERVER]

You may have more then one nameserver. The first nameserver shall be the IP of the server itself, if you are running BIND DNS Server.
That did it! Thank you so much!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed up Proftpd login for all users linuxfast Tips/Tricks/Mods 12 13th February 2007 20:55
The Perfect Setup Fedora Core 4 Proftpd error Nu2Linux HOWTO-Related Questions 3 29th October 2005 21:26
proftpd problems Ovidiu Installation/Configuration 5 21st September 2005 11:47
ISPConfig ProFTPD changes? ProTrooper Installation/Configuration 3 9th September 2005 19:13
proftpd does not start after ip-adress updates fuban Installation/Configuration 1 5th September 2005 12:23


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.