Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th June 2007, 11:02
kreya kreya is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 53
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Red face where should i save SPF record

hi,
i came to know that SPF record is required for sending mails to hotmail.com
i've created the SPF record.

i've created A record, CNAMES, MX records in my domain registrar's cpanel pointing the domain to my static ip. i use my ISP DNS servers.

openspf.org says if you run bind paste it in your zone file
mydomain.com IN TXT "v=spf1 a mx ~all"

where do i put this info?

Last edited by kreya; 13th June 2007 at 11:29.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th June 2007, 13:10
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

You can define a SPF-record within the DNS-Manager in ISPConfig.
The result will be stored within files within the directory /etc/bind/
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th June 2007, 13:33
kreya kreya is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 53
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Red face

thanks mate
does it take time for the changes to take effect.
yesterday i was able to send emails to a site .But today after deleting the DNS record in DNS manager in the morning my mails didn't show up in that site but does in yahoo.com


regards
kreya
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th June 2007, 13:38
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

When you make changes to DNS-records, it can take some time until they will take effect.
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th June 2007, 19:34
wr19026 wr19026 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 172
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

After creating the SPF record, do you need to restart BIND? I set them up for existing sites and after 24hrs they still aren't recognized.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th June 2007, 19:57
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,210 Times in 4,086 Posts
Default

no, ispconfig restarts bind automatically.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th June 2007, 20:03
wr19026 wr19026 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 172
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
no, ispconfig restarts bind automatically.
Ok, so how long would I have to wait to be able to see it at dnsstuff.com?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th June 2007, 20:12
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,210 Times in 4,086 Posts
Default

That depends on the nameservers, it may take up to 72 hours.

But its easier if you just check the config files of your local bind server, if the spf record has been added and if you are not sure, restart bind.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28th June 2007, 20:35
wr19026 wr19026 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 172
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
That depends on the nameservers, it may take up to 72 hours.

But its easier if you just check the config files of your local bind server, if the spf record has been added and if you are not sure, restart bind.
This is the PSF record that I found:
mydomain.dom. TXT "v=spf1 a mx ptr ~all"

I have restarted bind and will wait for 72hrs to see if it's showing up.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd July 2007, 22:07
wr19026 wr19026 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 172
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wr19026
This is the PSF record that I found:
mydomain.dom. TXT "v=spf1 a mx ptr ~all"

I have restarted bind and will wait for 72hrs to see if it's showing up.
I just checked using dnsreport.com and the SPF record is still not showing up, even though it's well over 72 hrs.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SPF Record misterm Installation/Configuration 4 6th February 2008 15:02
No SPF record. beryl Installation/Configuration 6 17th May 2007 19:52
SPF Record is not being created! vbrookie Installation/Configuration 1 28th September 2006 21:25
Problems with SPF configuration Joffar General 3 31st May 2006 14:05
How can I check whether SPF Record is running lexcomputer Installation/Configuration 1 12th October 2005 10:03


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.