#1  
Old 1st July 2007, 01:23
markg85 markg85 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default The Perfect Server - Fedora 7

Hey,

First of all a big thanx fo Falko for making all those wonderful howto articles
but i'm not making a topic here to say that alone in this forum section.

While i was walking through the howto and landed on Page4 i run into problems..

Firstly i found out that this command:
Code:
yum install quota
wasn't needed for me because somethings seemed to have it installed. i installed a MINIMAL fedora through text mode and turned off nearly everything.

Second issue:
/etc/init.d/named start

When that command is executed i'm getting this error:
Code:
[root@Fedora-Server ~]# /etc/init.d/named start
Locating /var/named/chroot//etc/named.conf failed.
I can't find any configuration file. You can create it by system-config-bind
or install caching-nameserver.
                                                           [FAILED]
[root@Fedora-Server ~]#
a locate on named.conf return this:
Code:
[root@Fedora-Server ~]# locate named.conf
/etc/dbus-1/system.d/named.conf
/usr/share/doc/bind-9.4.1/sample/etc/named.conf
/usr/share/logwatch/default.conf/services/named.conf
/usr/share/man/man5/named.conf.5.gz
[root@Fedora-Server ~]#
Installing system-config-bind won't do anything usefull because that needs a graphical environment.

And a few lines further you say:
Code:
I will use ISPConfig to configure BIND (zones, etc.).
so i just continued there and assumed that ISPconfig will fix the issue once a named.conf has been made.

And a little later on the page (at the end) you say:
Code:
mysqladmin -u root password yourrootsqlpassword
mysqladmin -h server1.example.com -u root password yourrootsqlpassword
i recommend to avoid using passwords in the console!!!! it is all being logged and although it's highly unlikely that someone gets on your computer as root it's still possible. (it's all written by humans afterall) so you can better replace that by:
Code:
mysql -u root -p
SET PASSWORD FOR 'root'@'localhost' = PASSWORD('MyNewPassword');
\q
mysqladmin -h server1.example.com -u root -p (or what works here)
No issues for the rest.

Now i downloaded and installed ISPconfig and i wonder why it compiled apache (1.3.xx) and php (5.2.3) and not used the apache and php that was installed with the guide... :S i don't really want to have 2 apache's running... (1 for ispconfig and one for the rest) is there any possible solution for this?

Thanx,
Mark.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st July 2007, 11:23
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,504
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,265 Times in 4,129 Posts
Default

Quote:
Now i downloaded and installed ISPconfig and i wonder why it compiled apache (1.3.xx) and php (5.2.3) and not used the apache and php that was installed with the guide... :S i don't really want to have 2 apache's running... (1 for ispconfig and one for the rest) is there any possible solution for this?
There are many good reasons for this setup and this has been explained several times in the forum. ISPConfig as a second apache server to make the interface accessible even when the main apache webserver is not running due to some misconfigurations to enable the user to fix it in the ISPConfig interface. If you dont want to use it like this, you will have to use another software.

To you bind issue. Please redo the bind installation steps described in the howro. Bind will not work with ISPConfig if you do not install it properly before.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st July 2007, 15:07
markg85 markg85 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Thanx for your reply. i now understand why ispconfig uses it's own apache server.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st July 2007, 20:07
dazblade dazblade is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I agree this is an excellent "How To" and I am following at the moment. I too have run into problems with:

mysqladmin -u root password yourrootsqlpassword

After typing the above, I now cannot access mysqladmin as in this example:
>mysqladmin ping
mysqladmin: connect to server at 'localhost' failed
error: 'Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: NO)'

*update*
Ok, I found a way round it, I have to type <mysqladmin -p ping> BUT the downside with this is I have to type my password for every command I use???? How can I get it to remember my password so once it is typed once, it doesn't need be typed again for future mysqladmin commands?

*update2*
Ok, this is now sorted. There is a file called /etc/my.cnf (Global options) and/or ~/.my.cnf (User-specific options) which should contain a group called [client], if not then just create the group and the the line <password = your_password>, so you get something like:

Code:
[client]
password        = your_password
The file should not be accessible to anyone but yourself, for obvious reasons. To ensure this, set the file access mode to 400 or 600. For example:
Code:
chmod 600 /etc/my.cnf

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

*update*
Am still struggling with the below command. Is it really necessary? and if so how do I get it to work? I also get the same error if I try to access mysqladmin as a user... do I need to add some extra info into /etc/my.cnf ??

...and when I typed the following command:
mysqladmin -h HostBlade.dazblade.net -u root password yourrootsqlpassword <--- I typed same password as created with 1st command
mysqladmin: connect to server at 'HostBlade.dazblade.net' failed
error: 'Host 'HostBlade.dazblade.net' is not allowed to connect to this MySQL server'


I should also mention that I am a LINUX newbie so I appreciate that I have probably done something wrong or typed something incorrectly on the second command but I don't understand why I can no longer access mysqladmin since typing the first command...

Hope someone can assist - as I can't go on any further in the tutorial until this is understood by me.....

Last edited by dazblade; 2nd July 2007 at 03:34.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd July 2007, 18:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dazblade
*update*
Am still struggling with the below command. Is it really necessary? and if so how do I get it to work? I also get the same error if I try to access mysqladmin as a user... do I need to add some extra info into /etc/my.cnf ??

...and when I typed the following command:
mysqladmin -h HostBlade.dazblade.net -u root password yourrootsqlpassword <--- I typed same password as created with 1st command
mysqladmin: connect to server at 'HostBlade.dazblade.net' failed
error: 'Host 'HostBlade.dazblade.net' is not allowed to connect to this MySQL server'
Take a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...mysql+hostname
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
dazblade (5th July 2007)
  #6  
Old 2nd July 2007, 21:57
dazblade dazblade is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This means that the mysql.user table holds a different hostname than mybox.abc.com. Either change the hostname in the mysql.user table (for example using phpMyAdmin) and restart MySQL, or use the hostname from the mysql.user table in the mysqladmin command instead of mybox.abc.com.

------------------------------------

I really appreciate the assistance, thanks. Is their not a command I can type in the shell to access and change it? is mysql.user just a mysql configuration file??

Or is it the fact that I have this specific problem that I'm unable to access it using mysqladmin or any other method in the shell???

I am loathe to install phpmyadmin just to make that change only to uninstall it again.... I'm not a fan of phpmyadmin.

*Update*
It appears you were correct - now just to workout how to change localhost.localdomain to myhost.mydomain and localhost to myhost.....
Code:
mysql> select host, user from mysql.user;/G
+-----------------------+------+
| host                  | user |
+-----------------------+------+
| localhost             |      | 
| localhost             | root | 
| localhost.localdomain |      | 
| localhost.localdomain | root | 
+-----------------------+------+
4 rows in set (0.00 sec)
*Update*
Just used mysql administrator GUI to change the users and it has deleted the mysql.user table........WTF!!! All I did was create myhost and myhost.mydomain and deleted the localhost and localhost.localdomain...... weird thing is though it lets me login with root myhost mypassword into the GUI but when I click on user administration now, it is all greyed out.......... Now I'm getting the opposite error = error: 'Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES)' - can't flippin win....

looks like uninstalling all mysql and re-installing it.... why is it so damn difficult to perform such simple tasks? (he asks himself)

I'll give it one more attempt if still too hard then I'll have to give up the on the idea of a server - its just taking too much time, where as in windows I could have done it all days ago.... but I hate windows even if it is simple do ANY task.... Hmmm methinks I have created a paradox, LOL lol LOL - o well enuff rambling, another day wasted - return to it tomorrow once rested....

Uninstalled and re-installed mysql but nothing has changed...... users still does not exist and has not been recreated. In mysql administrator, when clicking on User Administration I get error: Could Not Retrieve User Privilege Information - how can it give the same error even after re-installing it........ this is crazy........ I really am going to rest now as I'm just p****d off with it.

Last edited by dazblade; 3rd July 2007 at 00:25.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd July 2007, 16:11
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

You could try
Code:
apt-get --purge remove mysql-server
to completely uninstall MySQL (if you are on Debian/Ubuntu). Afterwards, you can install mysql-server again.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th July 2007, 11:19
dazblade dazblade is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

LOL
Thanks for that but I'm on Fedora 7 which is why I chose "The Perfect Server - Fedora 7" to follow

I use "yum install" to install it and "yum remove" to remove it. After removal, I then manually removed "/var/lib/mysql/" and all its contents.

Then performed "yum install mysql mysql-devel mysql-server" to do the reinstallation. Then did "/etc/init.d/mysqld start" and it complained that "/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock" was missing. So I created an file called "mysql.sock" in "/var/lib/mysql/".

Now this is happening:
Code:
# /etc/init.d/mysqld start
Timeout error occurred trying to start MySQL Daemon.
Starting MySQL:                                            [FAILED]
At the moment, I have no idea why it is timing out.

*Update*
All honky dory now. Steep learning curve but am getting there. Just going to spend some time getting more familiar with MySQL before proceeding to the next part of server set up. Thanks for the replies and the Article, falko.

Last edited by dazblade; 5th July 2007 at 17:12.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th July 2007, 22:24
dazblade dazblade is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Page 5

Hi - On page 5 it states:
11 Postfix With SMTP-AUTH And TLS

Now we install Postfix and Dovecot (Dovecot will be our POP3/IMAP server):

yum install cyrus-sasl cyrus-sasl-devel cyrus-sasl-gssapi cyrus-sasl-md5 cyrus-sasl-plain postfix dovecot
------------------------------------------------------------------

Now I want to use Exim instead of Postfix and TeaPop instead of/or aswell as Dovecot.

Our systems at work use Exim & Teapop which is why it makes sense for me to use them on my own PC to improve my own knowledge.

I'm just wondering, if I install Exim & Teapop will I need to still do all that SMTP-AUTH and TLS and Security Certificate stuff, basically everything in section 11?

...and if so will the commands be the same without me needing to change them except the relevant paths?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6th July 2007, 17:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dazblade
I'm just wondering, if I install Exim & Teapop will I need to still do all that SMTP-AUTH and TLS and Security Certificate stuff, basically everything in section 11?

...and if so will the commands be the same without me needing to change them except the relevant paths?
I'm not very experienced with Exim, but I guess you'll need totally different commands to set it up...
BTW, if you plan to install ISPConfig: ISPConfig doesn't support Exim.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 05:35
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
Rejecting outbound mail tristanlee85 General 11 20th May 2007 17:04
Problems with Postfix Mysql Courier PatrickAdrichem Installation/Configuration 3 13th April 2007 15:44
Email - Ueb-Miau mazhar Installation/Configuration 5 21st December 2005 10:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.