#1  
Old 2nd July 2007, 08:07
punto punto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 84
Thanks: 12
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default Cannot add A record for domain

Hi

I am trying to add an A record for a domain. I already have added a www and mail record and now when I try and add an a record for sms.domain.com I receive the following error
"There is already an A Record entry for this host in this zone"

I have checked all the recycle bins and the zone files for domain.com and there is no evidence of sms anywhere. I did create it originally, but have since deleted it and emptied the recycle bin...... it seems to have some residual part of it somewhere on the system. An nslookup on the box proves the domain does not exist...

[root@web ~]# nslookup
> server localhost
Default server: localhost
Address: 127.0.0.1#53
> sms.domain.com
Server: localhost
Address: 127.0.0.1#53

** server can't find sms.domain.com: NXDOMAIN
> set q=a
> sms.appkilmore.com
Server: localhost
Address: 127.0.0.1#53

** server can't find sms.domain.com: NXDOMAIN


Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated!

Regards

Matt
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 2nd July 2007, 09:27
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,386 Times in 4,231 Posts
Default

Are you sure that you checked all recycle bin's in the DNS-Manager (not ISP-Manager)?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd July 2007, 13:14
punto punto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 84
Thanks: 12
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Yes have checked them all...including in DNS manager (see image)





that is why is has me stumped
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd July 2007, 11:39
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,386 Times in 4,231 Posts
Default

Please see if you find it in the database table dns_a, if you find it there, change the value in the field host to something that does not husrt you, e.g. sms1 and the create a new a-record in the interface. I recommend not to delete the record in the database.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd July 2007, 13:18
punto punto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 84
Thanks: 12
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
 
Thumbs up

Thanks Till, that worked. However I did find two records for sms!

I renamed them both and was then able to add a new record. Any ideas on why they slipped through both DNS manager and the recycle bin?

Regards

Matt
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
There is already a CNAME Record entry for this host in this zone. woleium General 1 24th October 2006 10:12
SPF Record is not being created! vbrookie Installation/Configuration 1 28th September 2006 21:25
Have to manually add virtual server without WWW? lipp9000 Installation/Configuration 8 21st July 2006 15:54
phantom A Record G7pro General 2 24th May 2006 21:16
Question about MX record for new site Rocky Installation/Configuration 2 1st December 2005 22:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.