Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd November 2005, 17:02
wakeup wakeup is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default two webservers in one domain?

Hi
I'm goint to have two web servers, one linux and another windows. I want have two webs in same domain. I want go to http://www.mydomain.com and enter to linux webserver, and writing http://www.mydomain.com/any go to windows webserver. But I want to Url don't change of domainname. I want to It be transparent for users and google robot.
How can I do it?
Thanks



____________________
Hip Hop
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd November 2005, 18:36
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

I'm not sure if this is possible, but if it's possible I think it must be done with Apache's rewrite module: http://httpd.apache.org/docs/1.3/misc/rewriteguide.html
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th November 2005, 17:12
wakeup wakeup is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think this is for change urls but not change domain...
Could I do it with alias as:

Alias /externFolder 212.x.x.x/myfolder

?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th November 2005, 18:01
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

I don't think so...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th November 2005, 19:51
islander islander is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wakeup
Hi
I'm goint to have two web servers, one linux and another windows. I want have two webs in same domain. I want go to http://www.mydomain.com and enter to linux webserver, and writing http://www.mydomain.com/any go to windows webserver. But I want to Url don't change of domainname. I want to It be transparent for users and google robot.
How can I do it?
Thanks
____________________
Hip Hop
Search the Apache2 docs http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.0/
I have seen some example of this when i was reading there the other day.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about hostname and domain Ovidiu Installation/Configuration 26 8th March 2006 10:56
Can't send outside domain ejkeebler Server Operation 2 12th November 2005 22:01
Email sent to domain being rejected Lil'Brudder Installation/Configuration 9 25th October 2005 11:17
postfix config jmroth Installation/Configuration 6 18th September 2005 15:58
choose domain for new emailadresse not possible fuban General 4 5th September 2005 10:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.