#1  
Old 18th January 2006, 13:48
karmacop karmacop is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Non-Domain users/web sites

Hi

Id like to setup a configuration whereby i can offer some of my users webspace without needing their own domain.

Id like it so that they could use a subdomain of one of my domains i.e.

username.mydomain.com

or a subfolder of my main domain

mydomain.com/username

This is simlar to how some of the 'free hosting' companies like geocities do it.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 18th January 2006, 14:02
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,202
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,420 Times in 4,262 Posts
Default

You can use the user web feature of ISPConfig, but i would recommend that you create a website for each of your users.

Simply add a website for each user with:

host: username
domain: mydomain.com

Then go to the co-domain tab and delete the co-domain mydomain.com that ISPConfig has created automatically.

Infos to the user web feature are in the manual.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th January 2006, 14:10
karmacop karmacop is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default user web feature ?

Sorry to sound a bit stupid, but what do u mean by the user web feature ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th January 2006, 14:12
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,202
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,420 Times in 4,262 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karmacop
Sorry to sound a bit stupid, but what do u mean by the user web feature ?
ISPConfig manual:

http://www.ispconfig.org/downloads/m...nde_en_src.htm

Quote:
2.2.9 Home Directory of a User

Every user of a site has his own home directory in the folder "user". For example, the user "testuser" has the home directory "user/testuser". If FTP access is allowed for the site a user (if he is not the site administrator, see chapter III-2.2.1) will find himself in his home directory after the FTP login (thus "user/testuser").

In every home directory you can find the folder "web" whose contents can be reached through the internet via

http://www.domain.tld/~testuser/

or

http://www.domain.tld/users/testuser/ ,

where "testuser" and "www.domain.tld" have to be replaced appropriately. .
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th January 2006, 14:15
karmacop karmacop is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks

Thanks alot, i shall make sure that i RTFM more thoroughly in future
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th June 2007, 14:49
bonox bonox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm using my server only in local network but I cannot see my sites
for example
my ip is 192.168.100.10
my created site is gruppo.com
my user for this site is web1_bono

whit the browser I'm going on this page
http://192.168.100.10/users/web1_bono
or this http://192.168.100.10/~web1_bono

but ther is onli a 404 page, why?

I can see correctly only this page
http://192.168.100.10/

Last edited by bonox; 26th June 2007 at 14:52.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th June 2007, 16:32
omni omni is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 62
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

you would need to edit your /etc/hosts file to show that site locally

ie:
on windows xp pro

C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\

edit the hosts file and add the following line;

192.168.100.10 gruppo.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th June 2007, 17:52
bonox bonox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the result is the same and I suppose that the problem is another, infact I see the common home page with the title shared IP This IP address is shared. In order to approach the situated one that tries, you insert its distance. For questions or problems contacted the administrator of the server.


this is my lan:
server with ispconfig 192.168.100.10
server for storage 192.168.100.10
my pc
my pc2
my pc3
etc.
if i want see my site on server with ispconfig, must I insert this line on all pc of the lan?

Last edited by bonox; 26th June 2007 at 17:56.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th June 2007, 17:55
omni omni is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 62
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

yes, you'd need to enter that line on each of your pc,pc2,pc3,etc in order to see your site locally on the lan. if you have gui on the server then you need to make an entry into the /etc/hosts file there as well.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26th June 2007, 18:32
bonox bonox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

ok, it's perfect, thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
host site at same domain as ISPConfig server? amoswright Installation/Configuration 2 13th January 2006 22:43
Problem with postfix install ctroyp HOWTO-Related Questions 34 4th January 2006 14:10
Server Not Autorative for Domain Error drbista Installation/Configuration 10 20th December 2005 16:41
Email sent to domain being rejected Lil'Brudder Installation/Configuration 9 25th October 2005 11:17
postfix config jmroth Installation/Configuration 6 18th September 2005 15:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.