Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th June 2007, 02:41
Beastcave Beastcave is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Using Dynamic IP address with DDNS

Hello

I'm curious if there is anything that I could learn how to configure my ispconfig with my TZO.com account because I do not have static IP. Any help would be appreciated.

B
Newbie to Linux and ISPConfig
Linux Dist: Ubuntu (Using the perfect setup Ubuntu 6.10 server)
ISPConfig - 2.2.13
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 20th June 2007, 21:01
mtuser mtuser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 40
Thanks: 19
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to mtuser Send a message via Yahoo to mtuser Send a message via Skype™ to mtuser
Default

I'm using dnsexit and zoneedit for my domain.
dyndns.org works with ispconfig also.

I never use TZO.com before.

All you need only some dynamic ip program update.
set all of ISPconfig 's LAN IP only. You can't use dns manager as full feature.
__________________
ispconfig v3 site test.

Last edited by mtuser; 20th June 2007 at 21:06.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st June 2007, 05:39
Beastcave Beastcave is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtuser
I'm using dnsexit and zoneedit for my domain.
dyndns.org works with ispconfig also.

I never use TZO.com before.

All you need only some dynamic ip program update.
set all of ISPconfig 's LAN IP only. You can't use dns manager as full feature.
All I wanted for this to work are web, ftp and email.
Web works fine..
FTP works fine..
Email doesn't work so I'm wondering since you said that I can't use DNS manager which I need to create MX for email? Should I use TZO's outbound mail relay for this?

According to their site (solution for sendmail)) is to put this "define('SMART_HOST','omr.tzo.com') in sendmail.mc but I'm using postfix. Where do I edit this?

B
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st June 2007, 11:27
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,478
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,255 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beastcave
According to their site (solution for sendmail)) is to put this "define('SMART_HOST','omr.tzo.com') in sendmail.mc but I'm using postfix. Where do I edit this?
Please have a look here:

http://www.howtoforge.com/postfix_re...her_mailserver
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
Beastcave (21st June 2007)
  #5  
Old 25th June 2007, 03:55
Beastcave Beastcave is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Till,

I'm able to send out any emails now by using the relay host setup. My ISP blocks 25. Grr! I'll attempt to try if I can use other ports by modify the smtp settings.

Now I have one more left to do which is how to make it work so that I can receive email on my server.

I have created MX acct at Tzo.com for mail.mydomain.com and still my server doesn't pick up any emails.

Can ya help?
Many Thanks.
B
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th June 2007, 09:34
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,478
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,255 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

Maybe port 25 is also bloked for incoming emails. Please check that the MX record of your domain points to the external IP address of your router and that you forwarded port 25 from your router to your server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25th June 2007, 16:24
Beastcave Beastcave is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Checked with TZo.Com
MX record
mail.beast-aslog.ca 10
Domain Name IP Address
beast-aslog.ca 24.36.143.153

My Router settings
Code:
Allow	Virtual Server HTTP	WAN,*	LAN,192.168.0.100	TCP,80	
Allow	Virtual Server HTTPS	WAN,*	LAN,192.168.0.100	TCP,443	
Allow	Virtual Server DNS	WAN,*	LAN,192.168.0.100	UDP,53	
Allow	Virtual Server SMTP	WAN,*	LAN,192.168.0.100	TCP,25	
Allow	Virtual Server POP3	WAN,*	LAN,192.168.0.100	TCP,110
My log for mail.
Code:
Jun 25 10:20:25 beastserver courierpop3login: LOGIN, user=web1_admin, ip=[::ffff:127.0.0.1]
Jun 25 10:20:25 beastserver courierpop3login: LOGOUT, user=web1_admin, ip=[::ffff:127.0.0.1], top=0, retr=0, rcvd=12, sent=88, time=0
Nothing in mail.err

B

Last edited by Beastcave; 25th June 2007 at 16:28.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25th June 2007, 17:37
Beastcave Beastcave is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Port Test

Hello,

I checked and found a port tester that I could determine if any of ports are blocked or not.

Using nmap -A -p 10-800 www.mydomain.com
and this is what I get:
Code:
Starting Nmap 4.10 ( http://www.insecure.org/nmap/ ) at 2007-06-25 11:33 EDT
Interesting ports on d36-143-153.MY-ISP-SITE (XXX.MY.IP.XXX):
Not shown: 784 filtered ports
PORT    STATE  SERVICE VERSION
21/tcp  open   ftp     ProFTPD 1.3.0
23/tcp  closed telnet
25/tcp  open   smtp    Postfix smtpd
80/tcp  open   http    Apache httpd 2.0.55 ((Ubuntu) PHP/5.1.6 mod_ssl/2.0.55 OpenSSL/0.9.8b)
81/tcp  open   http    Apache httpd 1.3.37 ((Unix) PHP/5.2.3 mod_ssl/2.8.28 OpenSSL/0.9.8e)
110/tcp open   pop3    Courier pop3d
443/tcp open   http    Apache httpd 2.0.55 ((Ubuntu) PHP/5.1.6 mod_ssl/2.0.55 OpenSSL/0.9.8b)
Device type: general purpose|broadband router
Running: Linux 2.4.X|2.5.X, D-Link embedded
OS details: Linux 2.4.0 - 2.5.20, Linux 2.4.18 - 2.4.20, Linux 2.4.26, Linux 2.4.27 or D-Link DSL-500T (running linux 2.4)
Uptime 6.788 days (since Mon Jun 18 16:40:57 2007)
Service Info: Host:  "Servername.mydomain.com"; OS: Unix

Nmap finished: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 106.443 seconds
It is bit weird that the ISP says that their port 25 is blocked and the nmap is showing it as open port.

Is this useful information for myself to check the ports?

B
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25th June 2007, 18:04
Beastcave Beastcave is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Code:
Reporting-MTA: dns; (MY ISP)
X-Postfix-Queue-ID: B0FC632F4
X-Postfix-Sender: rfc822; [My EMAIL]
Arrival-Date: Wed, 20 Jun 2007 16:31:49 -0400 (EDT)

Final-Recipient: rfc822; admin@mydomain.com
Action: failed
Status: 4.0.0
Diagnostic-Code: X-Postfix; connect to mail.mydomain.com[XXX.MY IP.XXX]:
    Connection timed out
Report from www.dnsreport.com
Code:
Trying to connect to all mailservers:

   mail.mydomain.com. - XXX.MY IP.XXX  [Could not connect: Could not receive data: Operation timed out.]
What could be the reasons?

Thanks
B

Last edited by Beastcave; 25th June 2007 at 18:45.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25th June 2007, 18:35
mlz mlz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 189
Thanks: 16
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beastcave
Hello,

I checked and found a port tester that I could determine if any of ports are blocked or not.

Using nmap -A -p 10-800 www.mydomain.com
and this is what I get:
Code:
Starting Nmap 4.10 ( http://www.insecure.org/nmap/ ) at 2007-06-25 11:33 EDT
Interesting ports on d36-143-153.MY-ISP-SITE (XXX.MY.IP.XXX):
Not shown: 784 filtered ports
PORT    STATE  SERVICE VERSION
21/tcp  open   ftp     ProFTPD 1.3.0
23/tcp  closed telnet
25/tcp  open   smtp    Postfix smtpd
80/tcp  open   http    Apache httpd 2.0.55 ((Ubuntu) PHP/5.1.6 mod_ssl/2.0.55 OpenSSL/0.9.8b)
81/tcp  open   http    Apache httpd 1.3.37 ((Unix) PHP/5.2.3 mod_ssl/2.8.28 OpenSSL/0.9.8e)
110/tcp open   pop3    Courier pop3d
443/tcp open   http    Apache httpd 2.0.55 ((Ubuntu) PHP/5.1.6 mod_ssl/2.0.55 OpenSSL/0.9.8b)
Device type: general purpose|broadband router
Running: Linux 2.4.X|2.5.X, D-Link embedded
OS details: Linux 2.4.0 - 2.5.20, Linux 2.4.18 - 2.4.20, Linux 2.4.26, Linux 2.4.27 or D-Link DSL-500T (running linux 2.4)
Uptime 6.788 days (since Mon Jun 18 16:40:57 2007)
Service Info: Host:  "Servername.mydomain.com"; OS: Unix

Nmap finished: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 106.443 seconds
It is bit weird that the ISP says that their port 25 is blocked and the nmap is showing it as open port.

Is this useful information for myself to check the ports?

B

Um, that won't work, your local to yourself, not going through the providers network...

You need to do this remote from your server...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sending e-mail using mail() function linuxuser1 HOWTO-Related Questions 38 21st April 2009 12:20
mysql-cluster load balancing problem !! lychee_lch Server Operation 6 12th April 2007 13:41
server management > ip address? littlened General 3 25th August 2006 09:20
Howto suggestion suse PhP ver 4 + Ver 5 wwparrish Suggest HOWTO 11 7th August 2006 13:29
Garbled dns queries bosei Installation/Configuration 8 6th February 2006 22:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.