Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd June 2007, 20:41
Ripper Ripper is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPConfig DNS and virtual host configuration tips and problem

ISPConfig DNS and virtual host configuration tips and problem

After serveral iterations of attempting to manually and automagically configure elements to support ISPConfig, I have come to realize ISPConfig has its own idea of what settings /etc/bind/named.conf, /etc/bind/pri.yourhostname.ext and etc/apache2/vhots/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf should have. Although the majority of the work is done automagically, there appear to be anomolies that are imposed that cause trouble in an installation that is somewhat different from the perceived norm.

I am running a Ubuntu server two routers from the WAN (public Internet). The border router assigns "sticky" public IP's and firwall settings imposed on the internal routers (temporarily DMZ'd for install and test). The internal routers run NAT, also temporarily DMZ'd to specific server for install and test. A static LAN address is assigned to the Ubuntu server. During this installation and testing phase, the Internet feed is unincumbered by configurations on the two routers.

There are a few tips I can pass on to anyone having a similar network topology.

> /etc/bind/named.conf : check for unintended master/slave duplications caused by multiple attemts to reconfigure through ISPConfig interface.

> /etc/bind/pri.yourhostname.ext : host IP address should be public internet address.

> /etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf : Virtual host IP address must use internal LAN address.

> /etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf : the ServerAlias sometimes gets corrupted with the host server name. Make sure ServerAlias line represents aliases specific to the virtual name.

> /etc/apache2/httpd.conf : ServerName <yourserver FQDN> should be either in this file or appear in one of the other Apache.conf files.

Now, for a problem I haven't been able to figger out. nslookup <hosted.virtual.domainname> rotates resolving DNS server names. The responding DNS names are the names of the virtuals hosted on the server. So, as the command is executed several times, the name of the responding server rotates through what appears to be the list of hosted virtual servers. Does anybody know where to look to fix that?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th June 2007, 20:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripper
Now, for a problem I haven't been able to figger out. nslookup <hosted.virtual.domainname> rotates resolving DNS server names. The responding DNS names are the names of the virtuals hosted on the server. So, as the command is executed several times, the name of the responding server rotates through what appears to be the list of hosted virtual servers. Does anybody know where to look to fix that?

Thanks!
Can you post several outputs of that command and mark what is worrying you so that we can understand better?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th June 2007, 22:09
mlz mlz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 189
Thanks: 16
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Sounds like your setup for round robin DNS. If the same host has two IP address', it will rotate them for you, poor mans load balancing.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th June 2007, 03:57
Ripper Ripper is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Examples

nslookup is using the internal address of the ISPConfig/Ubuntu computer that hosts virtuals. Notice the responding server is named several different virtuals for the same name lookup.

Z:\>nslookup d-fwhomes.com
Server: www.metrorent.net
Address: 192.168.1.2

Name: d-fwhomes.com
Address: 70.250.17.121


Z:\>nslookup d-fwhomes.com
Server: www.cormtna.org
Address: 192.168.1.2

Name: d-fwhomes.com
Address: 70.250.17.121


Z:\>nslookup d-fwhomes.com
Server: onehomesystem.com
Address: 192.168.1.2

Name: d-fwhomes.com
Address: 70.250.17.121

Last edited by Ripper; 25th June 2007 at 04:47.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th June 2007, 10:15
mlz mlz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 189
Thanks: 16
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Ah, so each of the domains has a reverse pointer for their IP. If you just want one answer, you may have to remove the other reverses. I for one never allow a reverse pointer for an IP to have more then one hostname.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th June 2007, 01:00
Ripper Ripper is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default PTR and ISPConfig virtual

Ah, so each of the domains has a reverse pointer for their IP. If you just want one answer, you may have to remove the other reverses. I for one never allow a reverse pointer for an IP to have more then one hostname.

??

Familiar with the notion of reverse pointers, but totally lost as to how to config it. I did discover some PTR records in two files. I'm wondering if both should be present, or just one in particular.

As you may recall, I am running the ISPConfig server two routers from the WAN. Currently they are DMZ'd to the box in question. A public WAN IP is delivered by the first router to the second, giving the second router a real public address. The server sits on NAT behind that.

The two files in the /etc/bind directory are the public:

pri.17.250.70.in-addr.arpa

...and the private address:

pri.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa

There are serveral PTR records in the public version, but only a few (others) in the private file.

So, My question, are these the files that need editing, and what should these files read to satisfy the "one hostname" as you stated?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th June 2007, 01:29
mlz mlz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 189
Thanks: 16
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
 
Default

It's been awhile, but I believe you can cancel the behavior out. I haven't had to play much with bind files, until this week. Anyway, are there multiple pointers for a particular IP, say 192.168.1.2?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.