Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd June 2007, 17:18
Rocky Rocky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 553
Thanks: 14
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
Default MySql Master-Master Replication via Internet

Hey Guys,

I was wondering if anyone has tried to do a mysql master master replication through the internet. I have 2 offices which are currently connected via a private point to point line. However, the boss wants to cut off the point to point line and have them use a DSL line for their internet. I am forced to find a way to replicate through the internet.

Right now I have the two servers replicating through the point to point line and it's working flawlessly.
My concern is will it replicate in a timely fashion via the internet? I was planning on using the master master tutorial found here.

Anyone has any advice or suggestions?

Thanks,

Rocky
__________________
Home of the SpamSnake
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd June 2007, 22:20
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

I think that should work, of course depending on your bandwidth and how often the data in the database is changed.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th June 2007, 19:17
shayster01 shayster01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I have tried it and it works fine. I have only tried it with small files but it happens almost instantly.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th June 2007, 16:44
Rocky Rocky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 553
Thanks: 14
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
 
Default

I'll give it a shot after Verizon upgrades the other office to a higher DSL + static IP.

Should I worry about using SSL with my setup? I will be replicating company sensitive data like orders and invoices and those kind of things.

Rocky
__________________
Home of the SpamSnake
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mysql master master replication not working SoftDux HOWTO-Related Questions 5 29th March 2007 15:31
Mysql Master Master replication stormrider HOWTO-Related Questions 5 16th February 2007 19:18
Messed up ISPConfig-2.2.8 Upgrade Morons Installation/Configuration 4 29th November 2006 13:17
ISPConfig server also a MySQL replication slave jamesh Installation/Configuration 1 2nd August 2006 10:59
Mandriva 10.2 Perfect Setup Install Problems... ctroyp Installation/Configuration 12 30th December 2005 17:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.