Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 1st September 2011, 08:55
Frappyjohn Frappyjohn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default child pid 99999 exit signal Segmentation fault - one (tentative) solution

I have had this problem also after migrating a production server from Redhat ES 5 to Ubuntu 10.4 and the LAMP stack. It has occurred erratically after making seemingly innocuous edits to production programs.

So far I have "solved" or at least eliminated each occurrence, but not after a lot of hair pulling. The problem seems to be associated with undefined variables. By consulting my Apache/PHP log for "PHP Notices" (!) of undefined variables and eliminating them, I managed to solve the problem tonight, at least for the time being. Pay attention to undefined variables which are used in function calls (e.g. substr()) and to undefined indirect variables (e.g. ${$MyUndefinedVariable}).

Still, this is a PHP bug since the segmentation fault is occurring without PHP first throwing an error.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Frappyjohn For This Useful Post:
falko (2nd September 2011), jozza (15th September 2011)
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 15th September 2011, 23:03
jozza jozza is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Your findings seem to have solved this same problems for me too. This only happened on Linux, never on Windows. I'll keep observing it, but so far it looks good. I haven't noticed a blank page since i fixed all undefined variables.
I've been struggling with this problem for over a year, so i'm grateful to you for sharing this.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 16th September 2011, 16:11
bms bms is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

if anyone else comes across this problem its because you have an infinite loop in your code, usually a function calling another function which in turns calls the original function again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freebsd 6.1 support misterm Installation/Configuration 10 9th April 2009 09:29
Apache2 Freezes celtic Server Operation 31 28th May 2007 17:18
Downgrade php5 to php4.4.2 llizards Installation/Configuration 4 13th March 2006 23:58
PHP version... ctroyp Installation/Configuration 102 10th November 2005 13:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.