Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th November 2007, 18:29
Camomille Camomille is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default [big mix] hosts , hostname, ServerName

Hello,

sorry to come back on the scene with this "great classic" again
I have a machine running Debian and just installed an other one with Fedora 8 following "our boss" great tutorial The Perfect Server
I can access my Debian machine from the local network by typing its hostname "Camomille" but this does not work with fresh installed Fedora (hostname=amazone ) even since both machines' etc/ host seem to be almost identical.

Quote:
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
192.168.1.33 Camomille

# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
::1 ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
ff02::3 ip6-allhosts
and

Quote:
# Do not remove the following line, or various programs
# that require network functionality will fail.
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
192.168.1.8 amazone
::1 localhost6.localdomain6 localhost6
No problem when typing 192.168.1.8 and here is the output of "hostname"

Code:
[root@amazone ~]# hostname
amazone
Before posting meters of text, what other file should I check?

For info, neither Bind neither ISPConfig are installed on any of both machines.

Great thanks for guiding me.

Camo
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12th November 2007, 18:47
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Did you disable SELinux?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th November 2007, 19:38
Camomille Camomille is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
 
Default

Thanks for your answer boss and sorry for my late reply.

SELinux is disabled.

I think I know in what direction to search. There is an other ethernet device on my Asus Mainboard.It is not connected since I prefer using a gigabit DLink DGE 530 pci device.
I have the same problem with a fresh installed Ubuntu server installed on the same machine following your tuto.

When typing "localhost" , "127.0.0.1" , "192.168.1.8" or "amazone" in Firefox's address bar on Fedora system, I always come to the same "Apache default page".
I'll try by using the onboard ethernet device only since I did not find how to desactivate it in the bios!
I'll post the results of this very soon!

Great thanks again for your help.

Camo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with hostname & hostname -f not the same mcroteau105 Installation/Configuration 7 21st August 2007 03:25
Installing A LAMP System With Fedora Core 6 - Page 4 LAEAGLE HOWTO-Related Questions 11 24th February 2007 15:59
Changing servers hostname rbartz Installation/Configuration 3 16th September 2006 14:54
hostname Davide Installation/Configuration 2 25th July 2006 01:43
What should hostname be? Lil'Brudder General 2 19th October 2005 11:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.