Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 3rd October 2007, 14:52
TauTau TauTau is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 33
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kreya
Did you create an A record
w154.white.fastwebserver.de pointing to your static IP of the router or the ISP config Box.
uhm, such an A record of course already exists with my server hoster, otherwise I couldn't ping the server (we're not talking about a LAN/router configuration here, the server name is the official one, pingable from everywhere)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 4th October 2007, 15:14
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Does
Code:
ping -c2 w154.white.fastwebserver.de
work on your server? Otherwise I'd recommend to add w154.white.fastwebserver.de to /etc/hosts and try the ping again.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 5th October 2007, 09:16
TauTau TauTau is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 33
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

ok, this is funny... obviously my ISP puts a LAN IP into the hosts file (something like 192.xx.xx.xx). Of course the server can't resolv itself then, never would have thought of that

Thanks for the help

Lars
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Webmail problems with only one domain? compner Installation/Configuration 14 16th February 2010 16:59
One Domain Name Not Responding Authoritatively bluethunder82 Installation/Configuration 5 9th September 2007 16:09
This is %#@*&^$# embarrassing! domino Smalltalk 34 5th February 2007 21:57
Host or domain name not found BullyWug Server Operation 3 31st January 2007 20:20
postfix config jmroth Installation/Configuration 6 18th September 2005 15:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.