Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th May 2007, 08:06
Xinil Xinil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 1 Post
Default Can't start apache, virtualhosts problem.

I've looked through the dozens of threads here and I just can't find what will fix this problem. I cannot get apache to start no matter what type of configuration I do. The install worked fine and everything was going great, but apparently I did something (no idea) and now it won't start any more.

I try to start apache and this happens:

Quote:
[root@dedicated145 www]# /etc/init.d/httpd start
Starting httpd: [Wed May 30 00:51:06 2007] [warn] NameVirtualHost 66.186.60.50:80 has no VirtualHosts
[FAILED]
Changed around a few things and I started getting this:
Quote:
[root@dedicated145 www]# /etc/init.d/httpd start
Starting httpd: [Wed May 30 00:59:19 2007] [warn] VirtualHost 66.186.60.50:80 overlaps with VirtualHost 66.186.60.50:80, the first has precedence, perhaps you need a NameVirtualHost directive
[FAILED]
Changed around some more and now I don't get any errors, just a failed:
Quote:
[root@dedicated145 www]# /etc/init.d/httpd start
Starting httpd: [FAILED]
Any help would be appreciated. Here's what my Vhosts_ispconfig.conf contains:

Quote:
###################################
#
# ISPConfig vHost Configuration File
# Version 1.0
#
###################################
#
NameVirtualHost 127.0.0.1:80
<VirtualHost 127.0.0.1:80>
ServerName localhost
ServerAdmin root@localhost
DocumentRoot /var/www/sharedip
</VirtualHost>
#
#
######################################
# Vhost: webmail.gysslerenterprises.com:80
######################################
#
#
<VirtualHost 127.0.0.1:80>
ServerName webmail.gysslerenterprises.com:80
ServerAdmin webmaster@gysslerenterprises.com
DocumentRoot /var/www/web1/web
ServerAlias gysslerenterprises.com
DirectoryIndex index.html index.htm index.php index.php5 index.php4 index.php3 i
ndex.shtml index.cgi index.pl index.jsp Default.htm default.htm
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /var/www/web1/cgi-bin/
AddHandler cgi-script .cgi
AddHandler cgi-script .pl
ErrorLog /var/www/web1/log/error.log
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .php4 .php5
<Files *.php>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php3>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php4>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php5>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
php_admin_flag safe_mode On
php_admin_value open_basedir /var/www/web1/
php_admin_value file_uploads 1
php_admin_value upload_tmp_dir /var/www/web1/phptmp/
php_admin_value session.save_path /var/www/web1/phptmp/
Alias /error/ "/var/www/web1/web/error/"
ErrorDocument 400 /error/invalidSyntax.html
ErrorDocument 401 /error/authorizationRequired.html
ErrorDocument 403 /error/forbidden.html
ErrorDocument 404 /error/fileNotFound.html
ErrorDocument 405 /error/methodNotAllowed.html
ErrorDocument 500 /error/internalServerError.html
ErrorDocument 503 /error/overloaded.html
AliasMatch ^/~([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web1/user/$1/web/$3
AliasMatch ^/users/([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web1/user/$1/web/$3
</VirtualHost>
#
#
#
######################################
# Vhost: www.garrettgyssler.com:80
######################################
#
#
<VirtualHost 127.0.0.1:80>
ServerName www.garrettgyssler.com:80
ServerAdmin webmaster@garrettgyssler.com
DocumentRoot /var/www/web2/web
ServerAlias garrettgyssler.com
DirectoryIndex index.html index.htm index.php index.php5 index.php4 index.php3 i
ndex.shtml index.cgi index.pl index.jsp Default.htm default.htm
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /var/www/web2/cgi-bin/
AddHandler cgi-script .cgi
AddHandler cgi-script .pl
ErrorLog /var/www/web2/log/error.log
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .php4 .php5
<Files *.php>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php3>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php4>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php5>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
php_admin_flag safe_mode Off
AddType text/html .shtml
AddOutputFilter INCLUDES .shtml
Alias /error/ "/var/www/web2/web/error/"
ErrorDocument 400 /error/invalidSyntax.html
ErrorDocument 401 /error/authorizationRequired.html
ErrorDocument 403 /error/forbidden.html
ErrorDocument 404 /error/fileNotFound.html
ErrorDocument 405 /error/methodNotAllowed.html
ErrorDocument 500 /error/internalServerError.html
ErrorDocument 503 /error/overloaded.html
AliasMatch ^/~([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web2/user/$1/web/$3
AliasMatch ^/users/([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web2/user/$1/web/$3
</VirtualHost>
My server can be accessed at: dedicated145.krypt.com.
IP: 66.186.60.50

www.gysslerenterprises.com is where it's supposed to be online too. I guess I'm somewhat confused about what should be going in the:

Hostname:
Domain:
IP Address:
IP List:

Right now, I have:
Hostname: dedicated145
Domain: krypt.com
IP Address: 127.0.0.1
IP List: 66.186.60.50

--

I've changed all those around to different things too in an attempt to fix it.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Xinil; 30th May 2007 at 08:19.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th May 2007, 08:28
TheMaximumWeasel TheMaximumWeasel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Are there any Virtual host entries in your httpd.conf file? Also is the NameVirtualHost 66.186.60.50:80 in httpd.conf I dont see it in your ispconfig's vhost file.

Max
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th May 2007, 08:34
Xinil Xinil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 1 Post
Default

Here's my httpd.conf: http://www.myanimelist.net/temp/httpd.conf

I don't see any virtualhosts (though I've no idea tbh).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th May 2007, 09:09
Xinil Xinil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 1 Post
Default

Tried adding in:

Quote:
NameVirtualHost *:80

and

NameVirtualHost 66.186.60.50:80
Neither worked. I still get errors like:

Quote:
[root@dedicated145 www]# /etc/init.d/httpd start
Starting httpd: [Wed May 30 02:24:11 2007] [warn] VirtualHost 66.186.60.50:80 overlaps with VirtualHost 66.186.60.50:80, the first has precedence, perhaps you need a NameVirtualHost directive
[Wed May 30 02:24:11 2007] [warn] NameVirtualHost *:80 has no VirtualHosts
[FAILED]

Last edited by Xinil; 30th May 2007 at 09:25.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th May 2007, 11:19
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,791
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

- Have you created a website in ISPConfig?
- Is the file /etc/httpd/conf/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf empty?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th May 2007, 16:12
Xinil Xinil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 1 Post
Default

Hi till, thanks for the response.

I've created two websites.

The /etc/httpd/conf/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf file isn't empty either. I've listed the contents of that file in my first post.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30th May 2007, 16:43
Xinil Xinil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 1 Post
Default

Also, I should mention that: http://www.gysslerenterprises.com:81/login.php works. Does that mean I have another instance of Apache running?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31st May 2007, 14:51
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xinil
Also, I should mention that: http://www.gysslerenterprises.com:81/login.php works. Does that mean I have another instance of Apache running?
Yes, ISPConfig comes with its own Apache on port 81 so that you can still access ISPConfig even if the main Apache fails (like in your case).

Why do you use 127.0.0.1 for your virtual hosts? That way, nobody can access your web sites...
What's the output of
Code:
ifconfig
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31st May 2007, 16:52
Xinil Xinil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 1 Post
Default

Thanks for the response falko, I appreciate it. I wiped my previous install and reinstalled everything. It's all fine now. No idea what was wrong in my previous config. Thanks for the help!

I'm using my IP instead of 127.0.0.1 now too. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6th June 2007, 20:45
JRue JRue is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Post

I'm having the same issue as Xinil. Getting the same error.

Everthing was working fine until we moved data centers.
Now all of a sudden my virtualhost entries are overlapping? wtf?

Note, I am using my external IP in the VirtualHost Directive.

All my VirtualHost Directives are in /etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf as I believe they should be.

I changed the IP in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf last night and I think it changed back to the old address this morning....Wierd....
Quote:
TheMaximumWeasel

Are there any Virtual host entries in your httpd.conf file? Also is the NameVirtualHost 66.186.60.50:80 in httpd.conf I dont see it in your ispconfig's vhost file.

Max
There are no VirtualHost or NameVirtualHost entries in httpd.conf. Nor is there a NameVirtualHost directive in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf

Code:
# Include the virtual host configurations:
Include /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/[^.#]*
This directive in apache2.conf is confusing me...and it refers to file /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/default which has both NameVirtualHost *
and <VirtualHost *>
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Segmentation Fault while trying to start Apache vibs_im Server Operation 4 26th March 2007 09:24
Apache wont start anymore ! wapa17 Server Operation 2 3rd January 2007 19:04
Centos 4.4 32bit Hangs, High Server load 3cwired_com Server Operation 11 16th November 2006 16:47
Problem with the installation of Dokeos (LMS) in ISPConfig jofranco General 4 28th April 2006 01:45
Problem with the apache (I can't start ist) M.Behrens Installation/Configuration 11 31st March 2006 11:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.