Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th November 2005, 07:52
victagious victagious is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile Need help in configuring FC4 for installing Oracle DB 10g.

Hi,
I am new to Linux FC4 and Oracle DB 10g. I am installing Oracle DB 10g on my already installed Fedora Core 4 (Everything).

I am trying to complete the pre-installation steps for Oracle DB. I need help with the issue of installing lower versioned FC4 packages when higher versioned packages are already installed. I ran the command:

# rpm -q compat-gcc-7.3
Output: package compat-gcc-7.3 is not installed.

# rpm -q compat-gcc
Output: compat-gcc-8.3.3.4.2

What I understand is the following:
I have the compat-gcc package but it is the 8.3.3.4.2 version.

But I need the 7.3 version for the correct installation of the Oracle DB 10g.

When I try to install the compat-gcc version from the 'fedora.us' site, I get the message that, "a newer version is installed". So, the OS doesnt accept the 7.3 version.

How do I install the compat-gcc-7.3 versioned package?

Do I need to uninstall the whole thing and reinstall the whole thing? That
sounds easier and faster rather than wasting time with this workaround.

thanx in advance,
vick
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th November 2005, 09:55
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,763
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,331 Times in 4,183 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by victagious
Hi,
I am new to Linux FC4 and Oracle DB 10g. I am installing Oracle DB 10g on my already installed Fedora Core 4 (Everything).

I am trying to complete the pre-installation steps for Oracle DB. I need help with the issue of installing lower versioned FC4 packages when higher versioned packages are already installed. I ran the command:

# rpm -q compat-gcc-7.3
Output: package compat-gcc-7.3 is not installed.

# rpm -q compat-gcc
Output: compat-gcc-8.3.3.4.2

What I understand is the following:
I have the compat-gcc package but it is the 8.3.3.4.2 version.

But I need the 7.3 version for the correct installation of the Oracle DB 10g.

When I try to install the compat-gcc version from the 'fedora.us' site, I get the message that, "a newer version is installed". So, the OS doesnt accept the 7.3 version.

How do I install the compat-gcc-7.3 versioned package?

Do I need to uninstall the whole thing and reinstall the whole thing? That
sounds easier and faster rather than wasting time with this workaround.

thanx in advance,
vick

You will have to uninstall compat-gcc-8.3.3.4.2 before you can install the 7.x version.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th November 2005, 13:27
victagious victagious is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanx Till. I will do that once I get home today.

Thanx again,
vick
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th November 2005, 06:16
victagious victagious is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Uninstall is good. But where do I install the package?

Hi Till,

Based on what you said, I was able to uninstall the higher version. I downloaded the required gcc package and saved it on my desktop. I tried to run (install) it directly, but got some error message. So, I downloaded the package and saved it to my desktop.

Then, when I installed the package - I had 365 items put on my desktop. So, what do I do now? Can I just cut them and paste them in some folder? If so, which folder? I am not familiar with the Linux directory structure; as to which folder is meant for what functions.

Thanx again, in advance.

vick
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th November 2005, 09:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

You can put the package in any folder you like on your Linux system. then go to that folder on the command line and install the package:

Code:
cd /path/to/folder
rpm -ivh <package>.rpm
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th November 2005, 13:06
victagious victagious is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default sounds good.

thanx falko.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th November 2005, 00:14
victagious victagious is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default a lil problem now...

Hi again,

Since I had a lot of items on my desktop, I uninstalled compat-gcc hoping that would eliminate and remove all the patches from my desktop.

That did not happen. compat-gcc got removed from my system, but the patches were still left on my desktop.

I manually deleted the files to trash.

Then I moved the compat-gcc src.rpm to a different folder in my desktop and tried to install the package using yum. I got :

[root@localhost rpm]# yum install compat-gcc-7.3-2.96.128.src.rpm
Setting up Install Process
Setting up repositories
updates-released 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
extras 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
base 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
Reading repository metadata in from local files
Parsing package install arguments
Cannot open file: compat-gcc-7.3-2.96.128.src.rpm. Skipping.
Nothing to do
[root@localhost rpm]#

(1) why is it skipping the file... the file is present there.
(2) also, where can I find other packages? My up2date has a problem - it wont work for some reason.

thanx
vick
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th November 2005, 00:42
victagious victagious is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello,
I was able to install the package... but the second question still persists.

where do I find new pacakges but not have them install automatically?

thanx
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16th November 2005, 01:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by victagious
[root@localhost rpm]# yum install compat-gcc-7.3-2.96.128.src.rpm
compat-gcc-7.3-2.96.128.src.rpm is a source rpm, not a binary rpm. Source rpms still have to be compiled, I don't think this is what you want. You should search for a binary package.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16th November 2005, 03:48
victagious victagious is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default u are right.

Hi Falko,

I had installed the 64 version file.

Thank u all for all ur help.

vick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Configuring Awstats for ispconfig feanor Installation/Configuration 26 23rd February 2009 19:14
Configuring FTP access across the Internet JUANHUNGLOW Server Operation 2 8th October 2005 15:13


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.