Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Desktop Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 31st May 2007, 03:00
evangelion evangelion is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I can't save date in any partition when I run a live cd

Hello everyone

I am using a knoppix live cd, but it seems that I can't save data in any partition, I have

I tried to save a document through konqueror in other linux partition I have, and it says that it couldn't be written,

what could be the reason for this?

thanks and greets
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 31st May 2007, 14:42
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

You must mount the partitoins read/write. By default Knoppix mounts all partitions read-only.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st May 2007, 19:06
evangelion evangelion is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hello, and Thanks, I did that and I see I have an option to change to read and write mode, in all my partitions

However I must copy an image I have in a cd, (this image was recorded with nero in windows) to a partition formated in fat32, I have heard that to write in this file system it was possible in linux, but I can't
I think maybe it's because I have not permission but to read in the cd.

As I haven't seen this option I clicked on properties, permissions and when I change to "the content can be read and written" it tells me that the permissions couldn't be changed.

How can I change the permissions then?

Thank you and greetins
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st May 2007, 20:47
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,145
Thanks: 4
Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts
 
Default

well, if it is mounted as read-only you first need to unmount it and then re-mount it with read/write access...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SuSe kernel compile error !! Rangnarok Installation/Configuration 9 2nd May 2007 14:57


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.