Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Suggest HOWTO

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th May 2007, 17:15
HovardKr HovardKr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default HowTo: Apache2, PHP5 and SuPHP on Ubuntu 7

Hi!

I have been trying for two days now to install a webserver with Apache2, PHP5 and SuPHP on a machine that runs Ubuntu 7 (desktop). But has not yet been able to make it work.

The HowTo that I found on this site, telling how to install SuPHP with PHP4 and PHP5 would have worked just fine, but half way in the tutorial (I have been following it step by step) things are different than the text describes. Maybe there have been some updates since it was written?

I very noob to this, so I hope someone could help me with a HowTo using the configuration mentioned above.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 31st May 2007, 14:16
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HovardKr
The HowTo that I found on this site, telling how to install SuPHP with PHP4 and PHP5 would have worked just fine, but half way in the tutorial (I have been following it step by step) things are different than the text describes. Maybe there have been some updates since it was written?
Where exactly did you encounter problems? What was different from the tutorial?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st May 2007, 14:37
HovardKr HovardKr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi!

The first "error" was when I tried to run "apt-get install php4-cgi". There it gives a message that the file doesn´t exist.

I just tried to continue anyway, and next "error" was when editing "suphp.conf" where it asks for "x-httpd-php=php:/usr/bin/php4-cgi" in the end...

And the next is when adding the line to "httpd.conf" (at this stage this file is empty) and try to restart Apache I get an error messages... about here I give up, just because I am to new at this and don´t know how to "work around"...

BTW:
Is it ok to use "gedit" instead of "vi" in lines like this: "vi /etc/apache2/httpd.conf"??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st June 2007, 18:34
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HovardKr
The first "error" was when I tried to run "apt-get install php4-cgi". There it gives a message that the file doesn´t exist.

I just tried to continue anyway, and next "error" was when editing "suphp.conf" where it asks for "x-httpd-php=php:/usr/bin/php4-cgi" in the end...
I'm not sure, but maybe there's no PHP4 for Ubuntu Feisty...

Quote:
Originally Posted by HovardKr
BTW:
Is it ok to use "gedit" instead of "vi" in lines like this: "vi /etc/apache2/httpd.conf"??
If you're doing this from your Ubuntu desktop, then yes. gedit only works if you have a desktop installed.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st June 2007, 21:42
HovardKr HovardKr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
I'm not sure, but maybe there's no PHP4 for Ubuntu Feisty...
I see. Well, then I guess that I am hoping that someone can help me (and maybe some others) out by making a Howto on getting SuPHP to run with only the versions thats in this threads title.



Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
If you're doing this from your Ubuntu desktop, then yes. gedit only works if you have a desktop installed.
Ok! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st June 2007, 22:25
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,146
Thanks: 4
Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts
Default

there is no php4 on ubuntu feisty... just use php5 then...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd June 2007, 09:14
HovardKr HovardKr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjau
there is no php4 on ubuntu feisty... just use php5 then...
Yes, I was trying to do that... read the first post. I was hoping for a new HowTo on this one...

Anyone who takes the challenge?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
suPHP -couldn't create child process error tipsy HOWTO-Related Questions 10 26th November 2007 00:56
php4 and php5 white debian4 octopus Installation/Configuration 21 18th May 2007 09:58
suPHP / PHP5 / ISP Config Dy0nisus Installation/Configuration 25 12th January 2007 16:43
SuPHP for PHP4 and PHP5 with ISPConfig Rustin Tips/Tricks/Mods 2 29th November 2006 08:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.