Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th November 2006, 06:43
squirrel_killer squirrel_killer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How To Install A PLONE CMS On Debian

Hello,

Thanks for making this guide

Clean install of sarge using the first two pages of the perfect install

Followed How to, using ssh as root, no errors

hal:/home/zopy/zinstance/bin# ./zopectl start
. daemon process started, pid=14677
hal:/home/zopy/zinstance/bin#

then when I try and login from firefox I get
Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at 192.168.1.57:8080

Where should I look first?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 5th November 2006, 16:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

What's the output of
Code:
netstat -tap
and
Code:
iptables -L
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th November 2006, 17:37
ginocic ginocic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hi, all.

First of all, i would thanks to Falko for his work for getting our hours on pc easier (he does the work for us. we just copy'n'paste) and funny (try different scenes and then choosing the best).

about this HowTo, it looks like I've the same problem than squirrel_killer.
For me, Falko, these are the outputs of the two command you ask:

[Sorry for the smile in the quote section. it should be "*:POP3" (lowercase, of course) ]
Quote:
server1:/home/zope/zinstance/bin# netstat -tap|more
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State PID/Program name
tcp 0 0 *:imaps *:* LISTEN 1571/inetd
tcp 0 0 *op3 *:* LISTEN 1571/inetd
tcp 0 0 *:imap2 *:* LISTEN 1571/inetd
tcp 0 0 *:sunrpc *:* LISTEN 1349/portmap
tcp 0 0 *:auth *:* LISTEN 1571/inetd
tcp 0 0 *:915 *:* LISTEN 1581/rpc.statd
tcp 0 0 *:smtp *:* LISTEN 1541/exim4
tcp6 0 0 *:ssh *:* LISTEN 1577/sshd
tcp6 0 0 *:smtp *:* LISTEN 1541/exim4
tcp6 0 0 ::ffff:192.168.0.10:ssh ::ffff:192.168.0.:55591 ESTABLISHED1691/sshd: admin [p
and

Quote:
server1:/home/zope/zinstance/bin# iptables -L
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination
It looks like there isn't no 8080 port listening... and no httpd.

Maybe we have to install also Apache from page 5 of your HowTo.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th November 2006, 17:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ginocic
It looks like there isn't no 8080 port listening... and no httpd.
Yes, right. Do you get any error messages when you try to start Zope? Maybe in the log files?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ginocic
Maybe we have to install also Apache from page 5 of your HowTo.
I don't know, I've never worked with Zope...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th November 2006, 13:04
ginocic ginocic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Sory for ansewering only now
I was not at my place those days.

I'll let you know about Zope. I never worked with that app before, too...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd June 2007, 14:01
tommytomato tommytomato is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 129
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm working though the same tutorial, is there a typo

Code:
apt-get install libmxml1
is it meant to be
Code:
apt-get install libxml1


it seem to install ok, still running make as i type

TT
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd June 2007, 17:35
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
 
Default

The package libmxml1 exists for Debian, so I guess the author means that one (no typo).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
64-bit Debian 3.1 Install Issue naruto Installation/Configuration 14 5th September 2006 04:12
Debian 3.1 install - Autoresponder not working jockstrap Installation/Configuration 4 15th July 2006 12:58
2.6.12 debian install problems s2angel Installation/Configuration 6 31st December 2005 13:21
e-mail problem!!! Debian 3.1 maroonworks Installation/Configuration 18 6th December 2005 14:42
Why install from source instead of debian packages? TheMike HOWTO-Related Questions 3 27th July 2005 10:40


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.