Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st June 2007, 02:35
ClarkVent ClarkVent is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Noob alert: Apache version confusion

Hi all,

I'm currently setting up a webserver based on Debian 4.0 (Etch) and I'm following the "Perfect Setup". Installation of Debian went without a hitch and it installed Apache2.

Next stop was ISPConfig.

At one time ISPConfig's setup gave me the message it had compiled Apache 1.3.x (can't remember the exact version, but it was definitely a 1.x.x version) and I guess it's the server that's going to listen to port 81.

But why did it use Apache 1.x.x instead of Apache 2? Is this wrong? If so, how can I correct this?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st June 2007, 10:46
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,022
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,655 Times in 4,464 Posts
Default

Quote:
But why did it use Apache 1.x.x instead of Apache 2?
Why shall it use apache 2? Apache 1 is a very good and stable software that is kept up to date with bugfixes.

Quote:
Is this wrong?
No. Your webpages run on the apache2 server of your linux distribution and the controlpanel on port 81 on the 1.x apache version.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st June 2007, 12:17
ClarkVent ClarkVent is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Hi and thank you for your answer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Why shall it use apache 2? Apache 1 is a very good and stable software that is kept up to date with bugfixes.
I just thought it was weird it would use Apache 1 while the rest of the system was already using Apache 2.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with ATI's graphics driver installer Wraithfire Installation/Configuration 25 16th June 2007 14:33
HotSaNIC domino Tips/Tricks/Mods 23 6th November 2006 06:19
Problem with the installation of Dokeos (LMS) in ISPConfig jofranco General 4 28th April 2006 01:45
Problems installing NForce4 sound drivers Wraithfire Installation/Configuration 21 16th April 2006 18:30
KErnel not showing all my memory Jorem Kernel Questions 8 13th April 2006 13:59


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.